Cuban Black Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2002
Great black beans! Very easy to make, and smells up the house nicely. I would use a little less pepper next time - was a tad too spicy for me. Make ahead - these were SO much better the next day. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
85 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
totally worth five stars, and i don't usually like black beans! But my boyfriend wanted to try some because we have been doing weight training and black beans have so much fiber without the load of carbs in bread. we both don't like peppers or pimentos, so i just left them out, and i used canned beans instead of dry. The trick to canned beans is to pick the low-sodium variety with the most spices already in it. (More flavorful beans, the usual is salt sugar and dehydrated onion, but if you can find canned beans with more than that they're even better!) I used two cans, drained, and DIDN'T ADD THE 5 CUPS OF WATER!!!! this is very important, as a few reviers have mentioned their beans came out watery. The water is to soak the dry beans in, and then to be drained off. If you need some extra liquid while cooking the beans, add a little chicken broth. (Or vegetable if you're vegetarian) :) It turned out -so- good, i'll be making them often! Thanks :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bhappe

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2003
First off: this recipe does NOT work as written with canned beans. I used three 15-oz. cans of beans and only 4 c. of water, and it was still way too watery. I had to simmer it forever to even get it close to not looking like soup. Now, perhaps this isn't the case when you use regular beans, and/or perhaps this is how soupy it's supposed to be. Regardless, next time I'll use at the most 2 c. of water, if not less. Also, this could use a few more spices; I increased the black pepper and added cayenne pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
60 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
These beans were a perfect side to Tinga poblana de pollo. They have just a hint of sweetness and complemented the spicy chicken dish beautifully. I made them a day ahead because I think that beans, like chili, always taste better the next day. For those who had issues using canned beans, dried beans are healthier, tastier, and have a much better texture than canned. You do not need to soak overnight. Boil the beans in water for two minutes and then let them sit for one hour. Drain, rinse, and continue on with the recipe. I will use these as a vegetarian filling for tortillas, as well as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I'm not a picky person. These don't taste like the black beans I had all the time when I lived in Miami. These are very sweet, which I don't like when it comes to black beans. I don't like throwing food away, so I'm going to add hot sausage to it and hope that makes the taste better. 8/12/06 - UPDATE: I crumbled up some Jimmy Dean Hot sausage, browned it, and added it to these beans. WOW. huge difference in taste. It was actually good after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Very good. Based on other reviews & what I ate a cuban restaurant, I left out the tomato paste and sugar. Even my picky 7 year old liked them. I'm not a fan of green bell peppers, but they blend well once cooked in this recipe. Different than our normal black beans & rice with cumin/cilantro from Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Banks, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2002
This is totally awesome!! I warmed some up at the office one day. The aroma made EVERYONE request a copy of the recipe!! We've had it over rice, with fresh bread, over pasta...even my 5-year old loved it! Scrump-dilly!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMAJAZZ

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2002
Good basic recipe, definitely not spicy enough for my family. If I make again, would have to add some chili powder, hot peppers, hot sauce, etc.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
We love this recipe. The smell is intoxicating while its cooking. My husband and I have made ourselves sick because we couldn't stop eating it one night. As far as modifications, I have never actually added the pimentos, we never have them. Sometimes I'll sub with roasted red pepper, but I usually don't worry about it. I also cook this in a pressure cooker for about 25 minutes. We never have added the toppings, and we like it on brown rice. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These beans were tasty, but definately not "Cuban". No bonafide Cuban would ever put tomato sauce/paste in their beans. I added a large bay leaf, some cumin, used red wine vinegar instead of white vinegar and added about a tablespoon of sugar and of course, NO TOMATO paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Celebration, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States