Cuban Black Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
These were good, I expected a bit more flavor, but I can add that next time. Nice & Healthy basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Wonderful and easy. I cook the beans for 1 1/2 hours or until soft, then add all the other ingredients and cook for 45 minutes to an hour more. Instead of pimentoes I use chopped green olives. Instead of suger I use Splenda. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Pretty good. Didn't have bell peppers and didn't have pimentos, so I omitted them. Used canned beans and turned out fine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
My husband and I both loved this recipe. I always forget to soak beans overnight, so I covered the beans with water and brought them almost to a boil, then turned off the heat and let them soak for about 2 hours. Then drained the beans and continued with the recipe. I used only half the oil and only 4 cups of water, added a bit more onion and let it simmer most of the afternoon. Served over quinoa, instead of rice, with a salad made a hearty vegetarian meal. I will definitely add this to my list of "keeper" vegetarian recipes that I'm working into my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
These beans were fantastic. I read quite a few reviews before starting these beans. I decided that I would make them straight from the recipe given. I made the right decision. With my expierence at cooking raw beans, I knew that they would not cook in a couple of hours. They need to cook most of the day. The results are wonderful. I just added a little more salt at the end. p.s. spoon them over some brown rice and you have a wonderful low fat healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This is the first time I have even make black beans and rice. This recipe was great. My boyfriend is Cuban and he was suprised that it was my first time making them, he was impressed. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This is a great recipe, especially over rice. Also great for leftovers, bean enchiladas anyone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This recipe was not what i expected. More like a vegetarian chili. Not like pictured!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2007
Boy, did I love this! We served it as a side dish to chicken and steak soaked in Mojo Grilling Marinade (from this site), rice, mango and avocado salad...all washed down with Mojitos (also from this site). Outstanding meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by foodelicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Great recipe but need modifications. As other reviewers said, vinegar, sugar, and salt prevent beans from cooking. So here is what I did: I soaked dried beans for five hours, then pressure cooked them for 12 minutes on high. Meanwhile, fry the onion, garlic and green bell peppers. I added chipotle chile powder and cumin at the end of frying (I like it spciy). When the beans are done, check how much liquid is left...if there is too much, pour it out until beans are only half covered with cooking liquid. Add the onion mixture to the pot with tomato paste and salt, vinegar and other seasonings. Simmer for twenty minutes and serve with chedder cheese sprinkled on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States