Cuban Black Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Lacked flavor. This was not the recipe for black beans I was hoping for. It was very watery and bland. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2008
This was SO GOOD. I made this for some friends and it was a definite hit. I used 1/2 bell pepper and 1/2 onion instead of whole ones, and by accident I bought a 2oz. jar of pimentos instead of 4oz. and it still came out very flavourful. Not spicy and definitely a little sweet--very tasty! I definitely want to make them again. Oh, and it is good to use either salsa or sour cream as a garnish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2007
These were good, I expected a bit more flavor, but I can add that next time. Nice & Healthy basic recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by EROCK101

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2007
Wonderful and easy. I cook the beans for 1 1/2 hours or until soft, then add all the other ingredients and cook for 45 minutes to an hour more. Instead of pimentoes I use chopped green olives. Instead of suger I use Splenda. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2007
Pretty good. Didn't have bell peppers and didn't have pimentos, so I omitted them. Used canned beans and turned out fine. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA
Living In: San Jose, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
My husband and I both loved this recipe. I always forget to soak beans overnight, so I covered the beans with water and brought them almost to a boil, then turned off the heat and let them soak for about 2 hours. Then drained the beans and continued with the recipe. I used only half the oil and only 4 cups of water, added a bit more onion and let it simmer most of the afternoon. Served over quinoa, instead of rice, with a salad made a hearty vegetarian meal. I will definitely add this to my list of "keeper" vegetarian recipes that I'm working into my repertoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2007
These beans were fantastic. I read quite a few reviews before starting these beans. I decided that I would make them straight from the recipe given. I made the right decision. With my expierence at cooking raw beans, I knew that they would not cook in a couple of hours. They need to cook most of the day. The results are wonderful. I just added a little more salt at the end. p.s. spoon them over some brown rice and you have a wonderful low fat healthy meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
This is the first time I have even make black beans and rice. This recipe was great. My boyfriend is Cuban and he was suprised that it was my first time making them, he was impressed. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melinda

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sioux City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
This is a great recipe, especially over rice. Also great for leftovers, bean enchiladas anyone?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Langley, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This recipe was not what i expected. More like a vegetarian chili. Not like pictured!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 122) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States