Cuban Black Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I prepared this dish last evening with a few alterations to suit my diet restrictions & personal tastes. The green pepper was replaced by a red pepper, the garlic by 3 large seeded japaleno peppers & low sodum beef broth was substituted for the water. The salt was omitted & the pepper doubled up. This dish was great & tasty and still not too spicy. I did find that it need longer cookinng so it was simmered for 3 hours instead of the suggested 1 1/2. It was served over brown rice and we are happy that there is some left over to go with our supper tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
One of our favorite recipes. I make it at least once a month and serve leftovers with sauteed veggies as fajitas. One important note: Cook the beans COMPLETELY before adding tomatoes or vinegar. Other than that, it's awesome without any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
My family loved this dish. I had to cook the beans longer than the recipe stated because they were still a bit crunchy. Also, everything turned black, so next time, I think I'll cook the beans with the five cups of water, then rinse them and continue with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
these were just OK to me. I love black beans, and I guess I'm just not used to them with the tomato sauce. I prefer a more lime-based mexican black bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I messed this up when I cooked it - I didn't make the beans tender enough - but the flavoring was just right. I just need to cook it properly next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2009
I found this recipe really bland, and it took about three times as long to cook as it should have. I soaked the beans overnight, cooked them on high in a crockpot for 3 hours, and it still took 3-4 more hours on the stovetop for them to cook. The results were unremarkable, but they were pretty good on top of nachos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2009
Very good! Used dried beans & the texture is much better. Cooked for about 2 hours & used a bit less sugar & sliced a jalapeno to put in it. Great for burritos with some cheese for healthy low carb work meal (using low carb or high fiber tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: Pacifica, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2009
Very good. I used half the recipe and cooked for 1 1/2 hours. It was still hard so next time I'll cook for longer. Only modification I made was to use tomato sauce and not tomato paste because I had an open can of sauce already. Served with "Cuban Ropa Vieja."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
Oh lordy this was good! I used canned beans, undrained and served over rice. My fiance loved it! It's going in my file! I added a bit more garlic, cayenne, and onion just to suit our taste better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Port Townsend, Washington, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2009
I didn't find this recipe until my beans were almost cooked. Due to scarce ingredients, I didn't add pimentos and used two chopped small brown onions and 1/2 red bell pepper instead of a green pepper. Delicious on corn tortillas with chopped lettuce and sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States