Cuban Black Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2011
This was great. Very easy and after soaking beans overnight, I put it all in a 6 qt crockpot and let it simmer all day. Didn't use the olive oil or the pimentos and it was great. Sriracha on top makes it even nicer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2011
This was good but not great. A little bland, I wish there were more spices. It was better after it sit for a little while.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2011
This particular recipe comes the closest to the traditional Cuban black bean soup, but no sugar should be used. make sure the olive oil is the best you can get your hands on, it will definitely make a difference. And instead of using canned beans, use a pressure cooker if you're in a hurry. Again, the difference in flavor will be like night and day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2011
As far as bean dishes go, this is pretty amazing. I used canned black beans and it worked out great. I found it to be really flavorful and I definitely wouldn't add any extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2011
I followed the recipe and the beans were pretty darn bland. I had to add a lot more spices to give this some flavor. It came out tasty but I think you need to double or even triple the spices for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2011
This is an excellent recipe - cheap, easy, healthy and vegetarian. I used dried beans and soaked them over night, which worked fine. I found I had to cook the beans a little longer than suggested to get them tender, but otherwise, I made no changes. Next time, I may add some spices to give it more kick. This is a recipe that is worth making ahead. You need some time to soak and cook the beans anyway, plus a few days in the fridge really enhances the flavor. I'll be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2011
Really good using some of the comments from others -- added bay leaf, 1 t cumin, lime juice, no tomato paste, used red wine vinegar, a bit more salt and a bit more sugar.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2011
This is very good, especially after the first day. But I checked out Cuban Black Beans and added cumin and paprika as that recipe suggests. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Needs to cook longer like 3 hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lani76

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waianae, Hawaii, USA
Living In: Murfreesboro, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Not very tasty but doesn't taste bad either. Very mild. I can't imagine what it would taste like without the garlic. DON"T skip the garlic. My family enjoyed these beans - I put it in a bun to serve and told them it was Cuban Sloppy Joe's. I will add a few dashes of red pepper seeds next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Threeicys

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States