Cuban Black Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
So yummy! I halved the recipe (only had 1/2 pound of black beans!), it turned out wonderful!! Didnt have pimentos on hand. Served over white rice and added some baked chicken breast. VERY GOOD!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2013
This is a new family favorite!! I did tweak the recipe to fit what I had on hand and my family's finicky tastes but it still turned out delicious! I spent all of $5 on this meal and was able to use my kitchen staples for the rest - what a bargain for a delicious dish! I omitted the pimentos, tomato paste and vinegar and added 1 tsp cumin, 1/2 tsp tsp cayenne and a handful of chopped cilantro (I had some on hand - but next time I'll be sure to pick some up just for this dish). About 30 minutes from the end, I added 1 tsp cocoa powder to take the bite off the spice. This was so filling and yummy, and we have left overs for burritos tomorrow. Oh - and just for the record - I used dried beans, soaked over night - it was worth it to save my family from the sodium.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
I messed up and only got about 6 hours of soak time - these still turned out delicious. Since the vinegar type wasn't specified, I used cider. The girlfriend wants me to make these weekly now, and I am willing to oblige.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2013
This recipe is simple to follow and absolutely delicious. I did not stray from the original recipe and I am very happy with how it turned out. I mix the beans with rice and put an egg on top with some Salsa Lizano. This recipe is definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Outstanding!!! Originally, I planned on making them for myself, but after smelling them cook my husband and kids wanted to eat them too. I'm a picky eater, but I loved these. They were very filling, and the leftovers kept well in the fridge. My new favorite recipe! This is the only recipe I could serve where my husband wouldn't ask where the meat was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Delicious! I held off on adding the vinegar, salt and tomato paste until the beans were almost done because I read that any of those could prevent them from getting soft. They are delicious and I'll be making them again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Loved this! Because of time I used 2 cans of plain black beans and only 1 cup of water. Everything else was the same. Great flavor. I'll make this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I used canned black beans and it was still delicious! Husband really like them as did my kids. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
used black beans in a can, skipped the 5cups of water and used a 1/4 cup if that. followed the rest of the recipe to a tee and got rave reviews on it. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
So delicious we couldnt wait for dinner so ate it as a dip with lime tortilla chips! Served with fried cuban pork and coconut rice. One of my favorite meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Denise Hills

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 124) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States