Cuban Black Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 27, 2007
Great recipe but need modifications. As other reviewers said, vinegar, sugar, and salt prevent beans from cooking. So here is what I did: I soaked dried beans for five hours, then pressure cooked them for 12 minutes on high. Meanwhile, fry the onion, garlic and green bell peppers. I added chipotle chile powder and cumin at the end of frying (I like it spciy). When the beans are done, check how much liquid is left...if there is too much, pour it out until beans are only half covered with cooking liquid. Add the onion mixture to the pot with tomato paste and salt, vinegar and other seasonings. Simmer for twenty minutes and serve with chedder cheese sprinkled on it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kuratenko

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kanazawa, Ishikawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
I always loved black beans. Whenever I am in Miami I get them. There are no Cuban restaurants where I live, so it is nice to know how to make them your self. Very authentic and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Food Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
DELICIOUS! I used 3 cans of black beans and 3 cups of water as suggested. I didn't have tomato paste so I used a can of tomatoes with green chilies. My hubby couldn't stop raving about them. The next day we had black bean burritos with the leftovers. YUM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shalimar, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2007
Great flavor, easy, and cheap! What more can one ask? I did leave out the green peppers because we don't like them, otherwise I followed the recipe as is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by suzanne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cahokia, Illinois, USA
Living In: Matthews, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2007
I listened to some previous advice about using canned beans, which helped tremendously. Instead I used 2 cans of black beans and reduced the water to 15 ounces (tomato paste can filled two and a half times) and they turned out fantastic! We served the beans over a cilantro rice with ropa vieja and it was a perfect dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Mclean, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
My family loves this recipe! A favorite of my husband and my four year old son. Even my one year old likes it! They request it often! I serve it over bowtie pasta topped with sour cream and cheddar cheese, as suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2007
Pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tommy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Kirby, Merseyside, England, U.K.
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
didn't have pimentos so I used dry red chiles and fried them with the garlic and added a whole lot of black pepper and garlic salt. I also left out the sugar, Used a lot more water and simmered for hours while doing chores. everyone LOVED them and they were so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Very good. Based on other reviews & what I ate a cuban restaurant, I left out the tomato paste and sugar. Even my picky 7 year old liked them. I'm not a fan of green bell peppers, but they blend well once cooked in this recipe. Different than our normal black beans & rice with cumin/cilantro from Allrecipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Banks, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I'm not a picky person. These don't taste like the black beans I had all the time when I lived in Miami. These are very sweet, which I don't like when it comes to black beans. I don't like throwing food away, so I'm going to add hot sausage to it and hope that makes the taste better. 8/12/06 - UPDATE: I crumbled up some Jimmy Dean Hot sausage, browned it, and added it to these beans. WOW. huge difference in taste. It was actually good after that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fredericksburg, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 81-90 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States