Cuban Black Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by cookin'mama
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2008
These beans were a perfect side to Tinga poblana de pollo. They have just a hint of sweetness and complemented the spicy chicken dish beautifully. I made them a day ahead because I think that beans, like chili, always taste better the next day. For those who had issues using canned beans, dried beans are healthier, tastier, and have a much better texture than canned. You do not need to soak overnight. Boil the beans in water for two minutes and then let them sit for one hour. Drain, rinse, and continue on with the recipe. I will use these as a vegetarian filling for tortillas, as well as a side.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cookin'mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2008
The best beans ever! Had to make some modifications - I used 3 cans of black beans so I reduced the water to 2 cups. I also had to omit the green pepper and pimento because I didn't have them on hand. Reduced simmer time to about an hour! These were wonderful and very versatile - they could be served with many things. The whole family agreed that this will become a staple recipe in our house! By the way, I also reduced the oil to 2 Tbsp. - much healthier and didn't seem to affect the taste or texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fair Haven, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Danville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2008
This recipe is great! I used less oil (about 2 T total), and added a little hot sauce for a kick. I also added about a 1 T each of garlic powder and onion powder. Turned out delicious. My 2 year old ate all of hers and asked for more! Oh, and I only had to simmer it for about an hour, which was a nice surprise because I expected it to take longer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2008
In all fairness to this recipe, contrary to the previous review, the recipe does not call for canned beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2008
This has quickly become an absolute favorite in my house! I made a few changes , mostly based on the ingredients I had in my house. I used three 15 oz cans of black beans, NO water, NO oil (alot of unecessary fat), and one 15 oz can of tomato sauce. I also used balsamic vinegar and added red peppers and frozen corn. YUM! I serve it with fried plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Wonderful flavor and so easy, I planned on using fresh beans but forgot to soak them the night before. I used canned beans and I don't see how they could be any better with fresh, they were delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rob & Kara's Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2008
Muy, muy deliciosa recipe!!! Very different than the usual spice up can of black beans as well as a favorite Cuban restaurant's. My family feasted on this flavor filled dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DRocka Delicious

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Compton, California, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2008
I made these beans for some vegetarian friends we had over for dinner. This was an awesome and easy recipe. The beans came out perfect. My family loves meat, but they have now requested these beans in our dinner rotation
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2008
My family loves black beans. I will try this recipe since it looks very basic and similar to the one my mother in law made. Using extra virgin Spanish olive oil is a must to get the correct flavor. Cuban beans are not suppose to be hot, just very garlickly/savory. A tsp of oregano and a bay leaf also works in these beans. Nothing hot or too spicy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Barb

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2008
Lacked flavor. This was not the recipe for black beans I was hoping for. It was very watery and bland. I won't be using this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fulton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Chattanooga, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 121) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States