Cuban Black Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I attemptd fresh cooked beans on several occasions and it always ended the same...in the GARBAGE! I was really hesitant to give it another shot but I figured why not. It was a bit time consuming but worth it. I cooked them for over 4 hours on a low fire. If you follow the cook time your beans will be somewhat hard. I like my beans really tender. It was a really good recipe. I did not give it 5 stars because I did feel the need to tweek it a bit after tasting it. I decided to add an additional 1/2 tspn of Salt as I found it just a bit bland...I am not big on salt so 1/2 tspn did the trick. Also, I found the flavor to be quite good but it was missing something...so I figured I'de add Cilantro, because that's the way my family cooks beans...and low and behold...IT WAS PERFECT!!!! Everyone at dinner was amazed by the taste and my son ate 3 servings. This is my worst critic people. Remember the beans that ended up in the Garbage earlier? He hated them that much and for him to eat 3 servings is unheard of. My entire family competes for his approval in the beans department and Mommie went from the bottom of the list to the top with this recipe!!!! You have got to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
These beans were tasty, but definately not "Cuban". No bonafide Cuban would ever put tomato sauce/paste in their beans. I added a large bay leaf, some cumin, used red wine vinegar instead of white vinegar and added about a tablespoon of sugar and of course, NO TOMATO paste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Celebration, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
EXCELENT. might use goya sofrito for tomato flavor. also, lime juice at end makes it even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2010
This was one of the first recipes that I tried on this site quite a few years ago and I've made it many times since. It has great flavor, which is surprising since there are not many spices. I never add the pimentos, but otherwise always make the recipe just like it says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
These beans are delicious and easily modified to suit your preferences. I was already sauteing the onions, bell pepper and garlic tonight when I realized I didn't have tomato paste. Too lazy to go to the store, I used the closest thing I had-- red enchilada sauce. The beans turned out great! Don't be afraid to modify this recipe--I've followed it as written and it's remarkable, but it's never turned out less than really good when I increase and substitute ingredients. I like this recipe best when I use two CANS of black beans (rinsed), 1/2 onion, three cloves garlic, one cup water, omit the pimentos, and double the vinegar and salt,--follow the rest as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2010
I prepared this dish last evening with a few alterations to suit my diet restrictions & personal tastes. The green pepper was replaced by a red pepper, the garlic by 3 large seeded japaleno peppers & low sodum beef broth was substituted for the water. The salt was omitted & the pepper doubled up. This dish was great & tasty and still not too spicy. I did find that it need longer cookinng so it was simmered for 3 hours instead of the suggested 1 1/2. It was served over brown rice and we are happy that there is some left over to go with our supper tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
One of our favorite recipes. I make it at least once a month and serve leftovers with sauteed veggies as fajitas. One important note: Cook the beans COMPLETELY before adding tomatoes or vinegar. Other than that, it's awesome without any changes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2010
My family loved this dish. I had to cook the beans longer than the recipe stated because they were still a bit crunchy. Also, everything turned black, so next time, I think I'll cook the beans with the five cups of water, then rinse them and continue with the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
these were just OK to me. I love black beans, and I guess I'm just not used to them with the tomato sauce. I prefer a more lime-based mexican black bean.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2009
I messed this up when I cooked it - I didn't make the beans tender enough - but the flavoring was just right. I just need to cook it properly next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 125) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States