Cuban Black Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Outstanding!!! Originally, I planned on making them for myself, but after smelling them cook my husband and kids wanted to eat them too. I'm a picky eater, but I loved these. They were very filling, and the leftovers kept well in the fridge. My new favorite recipe! This is the only recipe I could serve where my husband wouldn't ask where the meat was.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
Delicious! I held off on adding the vinegar, salt and tomato paste until the beans were almost done because I read that any of those could prevent them from getting soft. They are delicious and I'll be making them again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2012
Loved this! Because of time I used 2 cans of plain black beans and only 1 cup of water. Everything else was the same. Great flavor. I'll make this many times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I used canned black beans and it was still delicious! Husband really like them as did my kids. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
used black beans in a can, skipped the 5cups of water and used a 1/4 cup if that. followed the rest of the recipe to a tee and got rave reviews on it. yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mari

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2012
So delicious we couldnt wait for dinner so ate it as a dip with lime tortilla chips! Served with fried cuban pork and coconut rice. One of my favorite meals!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2012
We loved these... The only modification I made was adding 1 small bay leaf and some chopped cilantro. I noticed that the beans were looking more "soupy" than I wanted them to be, so I removed the lid and simmered them uncovered for the last 30-40 mins to cook them down a bit. This might just be a matter of personal preference, though. This was my first time cooking dried beans, and they came out great. I will definitely make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by klzee

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I halved this recipe and used 1 can of canned black beans. So I omitted the water and boiling time -- you just need to heat it at that point, cooking canned beans for an hour and a half is ridiculous and is not what the author intended when she suggested you use canned beans. That the user who said it "doesn't work with canned beans" got "highly helpful" points does this recipe a grave disservice, because it came out quite tasty and was simple to do with canned beans. (It'd be simple with dry beans, too, just not as fast.) Thank you for sharing your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
Halfway through the recipe I realized that I was out of tomato paste so I had to substitute a can of condensed tomato soup (not the same but I had no choice). I cut back a little on the chicken broth that I used to replace the water because of that and left out the sugar all together. My family loved this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by riz
Living In: Chapin, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2011
My husband liked them, but my daughter and I did not. To me they're rather bland, and just tasted like a bland, meatless chili. I don't really know what the point of the pimentos is, as you can't taste them at all. And one teaspoon of sugar was not enough, as the tomato paste left them pretty sour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States