Cuban Black Beans II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2006
I only used about 2 tbsp. of oil to save calories & fat. I cooked these almost 2 hours and did not use pimentos. We had this over white rice, it was a yummy, inexpensive, healthy dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2006
Thanks for the great recipe! This was pretty easy to make and very cheap as well. Everything I needed was found easily at the Mexican grocery three blocks away, which saved me a trip to the supermarket. I may make it again in the future with some spicy sausage and omitting some of the oil to compensate. I didn't have a problem with the vinegar making the beans hard because I soaked the beans for about 18 hours. However, the beans were tender but not as smooth as they would be if I had used canned beans, so I will probably stir in the vinegar toward the end of cooking next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDSSUNRAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2006
Served with BBQ chicken and basmanti rice. I used 3 cans of black beans and omitted all the water. However I did dilute the paste with 1 c or so of water to get a consistency that I liked. Next time I will use less tomato paste. Also added 1 1/2 t cumin and added 1/2 t more cidar vinegar, plus I doubled the sugar. Omitted the pimentos and cut the salt to 1t. Absolutely wonderful with the rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2006
This was great. My changes: 3 cans of beans, 3 cups of water, a few sprinkles of red pepper flakes, and no pimientos. I served this with sour cream and cheese, and no one used them- the beans were great on their own over yellow rice. A great, easy, low-fat meal, I'll make it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Destie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hillsborough, New Hampshire, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2006
I love this recipe. My husband is cuban, so I figured I would try to make some of his favorite foods. It is great! I altered the recipe a little bit. I used the 3 cans of black beans and only used about 3 cans of water. I dont like them to be soupy. I also used olives instead of the pimentos. It seemed to be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Thought this was very bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Syracuse, New York, USA
Living In: The Woodlands, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2005
We love these beans! I cooked the beans for much longer. I notice some batches of beans do not soften as quickly, so allow extra time just in case. Also, I added the vinegar towards the end of cooking and it didn't absorb well, but the next day, it had soaked in and was very tasty. Today I am making again and will add the vinegar in at first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keene, Texas, USA
Living In: Clifton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2005
Tasty. I'd be happy (and not surprised) to get this as a side dish at a (say, Mexican) restaurant. However, while tasty, the traditional way of cooking it did not work for me -- the beans didn't get soft all the way through, even after I simmered it for an *extra* hour and a half. (This could be because the vinegar gets added before cooking the beans. According to the AllRecipes page on beans, using vinegar or other acids before cooking can prevent beans from ever getting soft.) I'm giving this recipe four stars under the assumption that I'll find a good alternative way of cooking it; if so, I'll try to update this review. (The current way, with the beans still keeping a snap to them, was good enough to eat but I'd definitely prefer entirely cooked beans.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2005
I have never made beans from scratch before, but these came out so delicious! Two professional cooks could not believe I made those beans!!! (I am a very amateur cook.) But these were easy and Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2005
We love this recipe. The smell is intoxicating while its cooking. My husband and I have made ourselves sick because we couldn't stop eating it one night. As far as modifications, I have never actually added the pimentos, we never have them. Sometimes I'll sub with roasted red pepper, but I usually don't worry about it. I also cook this in a pressure cooker for about 25 minutes. We never have added the toppings, and we like it on brown rice. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 120) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States