Cuban Black Beans I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
Instead of onion I used onion flakes I used neither peppers, just crushed red pepper seasoning Instead of bay leaves, I used basil I added chili seasoning (not chili pepper) I did not use the hot green chile peppers (in fact, most of the reviewers said to take those out anyway) I used way more garlic I did not use the vinegar. LOL -- but despite all this, we LOVED this meal -- it was inexpensive & lasted our little family 4 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
We make theis recipe frequently. One trick I have learned regarding beans is that if I forget to soak them overnight, that covering them with boiling water and then letting them sit for an hour gets them to about the right state.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
92 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Le Center, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
I boiled my black beans in my crock pot for 3 hours, then rinsed and drained and added them to a pot with ingrediance. I didn't add the hot peppers and I used one tablespoon of cumin for a stronger kick. Cooked for another hour. This is one of my hubbies favorite meals. We love this with a Pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Very good! Will become a regular recipe around here ... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I tried this two ways, both with excellent results. First, I tried as directed, but without the vinegar (the vinegar seemed to be an issue in other reviews of this recipe). This was went very well over basmati rice. Second, I fried the onion and bell peppers in extra virgin olive oil, added the garlic and spices (I left out the vinegar and hot chile peppers because I didn't have the peppers at the time), then I added a large can of black beans (after straining off the liquid in the can). This turned out to be a great base for huevos rancheros--put the beans over a corn tortilla, and top with a fried egg and salsa--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Hyphenated Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2000
This recipe is great! The beans tasted exactly like the ones we enjoyed on a recent trip to Cuba. It takes a little extra time, but well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2000
Excellent recipe. Pump up the chilies to make it a bit more exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
very easy and extremely flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
These are the best!!!!! They are a new feature to our family menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This was a very easy and cheap chili that strays from the normal American chili. I really love black beans and this recipe worked for me the first time! (usually takes 2 or more times to master the recipe.) Sometimes I add a few cups of corn and it brings a sweeter taste and a bit more color to the chili. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States