Cuban Black Beans I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2000
This recipe is great! The beans tasted exactly like the ones we enjoyed on a recent trip to Cuba. It takes a little extra time, but well worth the effort!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2000
This was worth the overnight bean soak; I would jack up the spice level as it was a littler blander than I had hoped. The good news is that it tasted better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2000
Excellent recipe. Pump up the chilies to make it a bit more exciting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2000
This recipe was not nearly as good as I expected; tasted too strongly of vinegar. Even adding more spices like other posters suggested didn't help. Not something I would ever make again...sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
Vinegar is optional and is really only used in some regions of Cuba. My family also does not use chile peppers. Cuban cooking does not normally use hot spices. Instead the key is to use garlic and salt to your tastes....beans are great the next day so I tend to make them the day before I need them. The flavor seems to concentrate. Additionally, I like to boil the beans and in a separate pan, I sweat the onions, oil and other spices and add the pre-cooked items to the beans -- I think it improves the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
very easy and extremely flavorful
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
Quite a nice recipe, although I agree with the other comments about the vinegar. It'd probably be best to use half the amount given, as it is a touch overpowering (although it is a nice flavour). I would also agree with one of the comments made, that sweating the onions and peppers on their own while the beans cook would improve the flavour. Plus, add the spices towards the very end of the bean cooking, as the flavours tend to boil out after such a long time. Still - all said and done, it is a nice way to use black beans, it's dirt cheap, and it can be reheated in all sorts of different ways! Great rolled up in a tortilla with the sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2001
I agree with Aurelina that I was disappointed in how this recipe turned out. For starters--1.5 hours was not near long enough --I had to cook for over 2.5 hours and they were still a bit crunchy. The flavor was bland to my surprise--I was expecting more. Won't make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
Excellent recipe! Subtract one of the chile peppers or leave them out completely to make it even more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
These are the best!!!!! They are a new feature to our family menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States