Cuban Black Beans I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
I thought they were bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2006
Excellent recipe! Jack sautes the veggies before adding to beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dwight, Kansas, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2006
This recipe is full of flavor. I have made this recipe as a side dish and as a filling for black bean burritos.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2006
Considering the ingredients in this, it was surprisingly bland! We had company over, and when I cleared the table, I noticed that everone's plate still had most of their portion left.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA
Living In: Mooresville, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
My grandma has been making the exact same recipe for years!!!! I tried my hand a few weeks ago, and it turned out yummy! The only difference is we use white vinegar when cooking and then pour a bit of pickled bell pepper vinegar on top!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I tried this two ways, both with excellent results. First, I tried as directed, but without the vinegar (the vinegar seemed to be an issue in other reviews of this recipe). This was went very well over basmati rice. Second, I fried the onion and bell peppers in extra virgin olive oil, added the garlic and spices (I left out the vinegar and hot chile peppers because I didn't have the peppers at the time), then I added a large can of black beans (after straining off the liquid in the can). This turned out to be a great base for huevos rancheros--put the beans over a corn tortilla, and top with a fried egg and salsa--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Hyphenated Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2005
didn't care for this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Olean, New York, USA
Living In: Pueblo West, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mark P
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2005
Bad: too vinegary and somewhat bitter (from the reaction of the vinegar with something else?). After reading other reviews I was worried about the vinegar so I only added 2 tablespoons (of white vinegar -- I didn't have balsamic around) instead of the quarter-cup the recipe calls for. But this was just tuned out badly. My roommate suggested that adding sugar tends to counteract a vinegar flavor so I did that and that made the dish more edible. (With that change, it might've managed to get three stars if only it didn't take so much planning to prepare.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2005
Pretty tasty! It doesn't stay vegetarian if you do this, but it adds some texture and flavor if you add cooked bacon to the pot, and sprinkle the top with cheddar cheese when you serve it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2005
Very good! Will become a regular recipe around here ... thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States