Cuban Black Beans I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2000
Vinegar is optional and is really only used in some regions of Cuba. My family also does not use chile peppers. Cuban cooking does not normally use hot spices. Instead the key is to use garlic and salt to your tastes....beans are great the next day so I tend to make them the day before I need them. The flavor seems to concentrate. Additionally, I like to boil the beans and in a separate pan, I sweat the onions, oil and other spices and add the pre-cooked items to the beans -- I think it improves the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
We make theis recipe frequently. One trick I have learned regarding beans is that if I forget to soak them overnight, that covering them with boiling water and then letting them sit for an hour gets them to about the right state.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Le Center, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Since it was just the two of us, I wanted to make a smaller portion using canned black beans. I actually weighed one can of beans and while it was a 15-1/2 oz. can, it weighed just 8 ozs., which was perfect to scale this recipe down to half. I sauteed the vegetables in butter first (used jalapeno for the hot green chile pepper called for), then added the drained and rinsed beans, the seasonings, and 1 cup of chicken stock. I was too chicken to use the full amount of balsamic vinegar called for, so for this half recipe I added only 1 T., half the amount called for. I simmered it all, uncovered, until most of the stock was absorbed. This was just delicious and pretty on the plate. Hubby said he hates black beans, but he likes these since this wasn't as spicy or hot as some black bean recipes are. This was the perfect accompaniment to our Cuban meal of Sea Bass Cuban Style, Saffron Rice and Jicama Salad with Cilantro and Lime, all recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
Quite a nice recipe, although I agree with the other comments about the vinegar. It'd probably be best to use half the amount given, as it is a touch overpowering (although it is a nice flavour). I would also agree with one of the comments made, that sweating the onions and peppers on their own while the beans cook would improve the flavour. Plus, add the spices towards the very end of the bean cooking, as the flavours tend to boil out after such a long time. Still - all said and done, it is a nice way to use black beans, it's dirt cheap, and it can be reheated in all sorts of different ways! Great rolled up in a tortilla with the sour cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
In all honesty, I did not make this recipe. However, I am Cuban (as in FROM Cuba), and I will swear on a Bible that NO CUBAN EVER has used green chiles in their frijoles negros (black beans). While this may be a tasty "black bean" recipe, it is not - under any circumstances - a recipe for "Cuban black beans."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I made this for a party to go with cuban pork. A huge hit, there were no beans left, many went back for seconds. I probably added a bit more cumin and oregano than called for, and I substitued about 1 tsp of cayenne for the green hot peppers. Reading other reviews, if you substitute white vinegar for balsamic it will be sour, balsamic vinegar has a richness and sweetness to it that white vinegar has none of. I think adding the garlic, raw, at the end made it more flavorful too. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2005
I tried this two ways, both with excellent results. First, I tried as directed, but without the vinegar (the vinegar seemed to be an issue in other reviews of this recipe). This was went very well over basmati rice. Second, I fried the onion and bell peppers in extra virgin olive oil, added the garlic and spices (I left out the vinegar and hot chile peppers because I didn't have the peppers at the time), then I added a large can of black beans (after straining off the liquid in the can). This turned out to be a great base for huevos rancheros--put the beans over a corn tortilla, and top with a fried egg and salsa--yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by The Hyphenated Cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
I boiled my black beans in my crock pot for 3 hours, then rinsed and drained and added them to a pot with ingrediance. I didn't add the hot peppers and I used one tablespoon of cumin for a stronger kick. Cooked for another hour. This is one of my hubbies favorite meals. We love this with a Pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2001
Excellent recipe! Subtract one of the chile peppers or leave them out completely to make it even more authentic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
Instead of onion I used onion flakes I used neither peppers, just crushed red pepper seasoning Instead of bay leaves, I used basil I added chili seasoning (not chili pepper) I did not use the hot green chile peppers (in fact, most of the reviewers said to take those out anyway) I used way more garlic I did not use the vinegar. LOL -- but despite all this, we LOVED this meal -- it was inexpensive & lasted our little family 4 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States