Cuban Black Beans I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2004
The first time we made this, I don't think we let the beans soak enough. Next time we used canned beans and had better success. Love the flavor, great with rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This was a very easy and cheap chili that strays from the normal American chili. I really love black beans and this recipe worked for me the first time! (usually takes 2 or more times to master the recipe.) Sometimes I add a few cups of corn and it brings a sweeter taste and a bit more color to the chili. Great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
I'm sorry...this recipe was just terrible. Too much vinegar. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Glendale, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2003
Very good! Lot's of flavor - we will definately be making this again. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2003
I made this and my husband loved them, will definetely make them again. I ommitted the chilies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2002
First of all, this recipe turned out far too spicy for me, even though I partially de-seeded the chilli peppers. I don't understand how other reviewers found it too bland. Maybe it's because I added them at the end. At any rate, I think I shall follow the advice of Maitreg and Aduenas and leave them out altogether next time. Secondly, I thought there was too much onion and bell pepper in proportion to the beans. But perhaps that's just me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lahore, Punjab, Pakistan
Living In: Paris, Île-De-France, France

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2002
Instead of onion I used onion flakes I used neither peppers, just crushed red pepper seasoning Instead of bay leaves, I used basil I added chili seasoning (not chili pepper) I did not use the hot green chile peppers (in fact, most of the reviewers said to take those out anyway) I used way more garlic I did not use the vinegar. LOL -- but despite all this, we LOVED this meal -- it was inexpensive & lasted our little family 4 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2002
I boiled my black beans in my crock pot for 3 hours, then rinsed and drained and added them to a pot with ingrediance. I didn't add the hot peppers and I used one tablespoon of cumin for a stronger kick. Cooked for another hour. This is one of my hubbies favorite meals. We love this with a Pork roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yakima, Washington, USA
Living In: Lehi, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2001
We make theis recipe frequently. One trick I have learned regarding beans is that if I forget to soak them overnight, that covering them with boiling water and then letting them sit for an hour gets them to about the right state.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Le Center, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Brooklyn Park, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2001
These are the best!!!!! They are a new feature to our family menu.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States