Cuban Black Beans I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
Absolutely no flavor. I'm thinking I did something wrong too cause the beans were hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
Since it was just the two of us, I wanted to make a smaller portion using canned black beans. I actually weighed one can of beans and while it was a 15-1/2 oz. can, it weighed just 8 ozs., which was perfect to scale this recipe down to half. I sauteed the vegetables in butter first (used jalapeno for the hot green chile pepper called for), then added the drained and rinsed beans, the seasonings, and 1 cup of chicken stock. I was too chicken to use the full amount of balsamic vinegar called for, so for this half recipe I added only 1 T., half the amount called for. I simmered it all, uncovered, until most of the stock was absorbed. This was just delicious and pretty on the plate. Hubby said he hates black beans, but he likes these since this wasn't as spicy or hot as some black bean recipes are. This was the perfect accompaniment to our Cuban meal of Sea Bass Cuban Style, Saffron Rice and Jicama Salad with Cilantro and Lime, all recipes from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2009
FANTASTIC!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by meow i am a cat
Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2008
These were excellent!!my cuban boyfriend really liked them.will definetely make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2008
I found this recipe too vinegary and with too many chopped peppers. Also no need to bother with dried beans. I use Goya black beans- I saute the onions & one slice of green pepper in a bit of olive oil & then I add the garlic, bay leaf, cumin, S&P to taste, bit of vinegar and bit of brown sugar to balance out the flavor, and the sauteing brings out all the flavors and they blend better. THEN I add all that to the pot of beans and simmer. When you taste the cumin and garlic, that's Cuban,mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ocala, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2008
I used Goya black beans in a can instead. This recipe is amazing! My boyfriend who hated black beans slurped his bowl with this recipe. I omitted the chiles though. The balsamic vinegar gave it that BAM! I'm doing South Beach diet and would recommend this to anyone who is eating on a healthy tip.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
Very tasty - I cooked the beans by themselves until they were tender. I lightly sauteed the vegetables in a little olive oil, and then added them and the seasonings - all but the balsamic vinegar and the salt. I increased the temperature to medium low and allowed the beans to cook down for about 15 minutes. At that point, I added about 1T of salt and 2T of balsamic vinegar. I served it with grilled pork tenderloin, sour cream, tomatoes, and tortillas. A very satisfying meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Ketchikan, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2008
WOW!! That was wonderful!! This is my family's new favorite. Even my pork-hating son absolutely loved this one and asked for seconds (but it was already gone!). We will enjoy this one often. Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shasta Lake, California, USA
Living In: Zanesville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
I made this for a party to go with cuban pork. A huge hit, there were no beans left, many went back for seconds. I probably added a bit more cumin and oregano than called for, and I substitued about 1 tsp of cayenne for the green hot peppers. Reading other reviews, if you substitute white vinegar for balsamic it will be sour, balsamic vinegar has a richness and sweetness to it that white vinegar has none of. I think adding the garlic, raw, at the end made it more flavorful too. Great stuff!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2008
Black beans aren't that easy to get in Australia so I substituted canned borlotti beans, which worked well. I only added 1 tbsp of balsamic vinegar plus one tsp on dark brown sugar and that seemed to balance out the slight bitterness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States