Cuban Black Beans I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: May 7, 2010
As part of a social studies assignment, the kids made these beans as their recipe from Cuba. We left out the hot green chile peppers because we were using a sofrito that was a little spicy. The only other change we made was that we used less balsamic because it seemed like a lot. We loved this! It was our favorite of all the Caribbean dishes we made. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2010
Wow, this was absolutely delicious. I used a 15 oz can of black beans (I didn't drain it). I also left out the green bell pepper and used only 1 jalapeno pepper. I substituted italian seasoning for the oregano and smoked paprika for the regular paprika. It came out wonderful. Do not skimp on the balsamic vinegar. It adds a lovely sweet flavour. The smoked paprika gave it a nice smoky finish. I will definitely use the 2 jalapenos next time though. I recommend sauteeing all the vegetables in a little bit of oil before adding the black beans. Overall, a great recipe! It was easy and quick to put together. It went great with the Brazilian Chicken recipe from this site. I even had an anti black bean friend give it rave reviews.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
I've made these twice now, once with canned beans and once with dried beans soaked overnight. The dried beans were better. This last time I doubled the recipe, using two pounds of beans. I halved the veggies, using only one onion and one red bell pepper for the two pounds of beans. I liked this better than the full amount. I also halved the amount of balsamic vinegar, as I was afraid it would be too overwhelming. I upped the amount of oregano a little, and added a little cayenne instead of chile peppers, as I wanted my one year old to be able to eat it. I added just enough water to cover the beans, and continued to add water as it cooked out. The beans turned out pretty good, and could be used in a variety of ways. I've served them with a Cuban pork roast and yellow rice, and also with a chile rellenos quiche. I think I'll eat the leftovers in burritos. Tastes great, healthy and economical.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
I really loved the taste of these beasns and all my friends did too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Oh MY! These Cuban beans are a HIT at our house! Not only are they cheap and fairly easy to make - everyone gobbled them up! I made this exactly by the recipe.. We had so much leftover (if after my hubsand gobbled up 3 servings at dinner!) we used them to make bean burritos, and refried them to serve with huevos rancheros! They are absolutely delicious - definitly will be making these again!!! Thank you for sharing this wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa Moore

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Spencer, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Mediocre - lots of work and cook time for an okay result. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marcie Killian Connally

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Ferndale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
Love this recipe! I've made it twice and both times I've emailed it to friends or family because I liked it so much. We ate it topped with cheese in tortillas. One variation - I skipped the chile peppers so it wouldn't be spicy for the kids, then we spiced up the adult portions with green tabasco sauce - the flavour of the sauce blends great with the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
Sorry, unbelievably bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I havent tried this recipe as of yet. My dad came from cuba and he would do this alot. but he would add his little touch. like he never used paprika and green chile pepper, the two ingredient he did use when the beans were done. ten minutes before end of cooking he would add 3 table spoon of mashed potatoes flakes to make it thick a bit and 1 tsp of sugar. i know its sounds weird but it was good. another helpful hint if you used dried beans you can soaked them over nite (drain) or boil for about 10 mins let soak for an hour. or better yet if you have a pressure cooker dont need to do the above. just rinse and remove bits of rocks that sometimes comes in bag. in pressure cooker less cooking time about 45 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2009
A really healthy, cheap,filling and TASTY dish. I used 3 cans of drained beans and simmered it for around 25 min. After that time, the vinegar wasn't overpowering
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States