Cuban Black Beans I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2011
Did not care for this one bit. The beans came out really sweet tasting. Thought they would be better the next day but was wrong. I think the vinegar is way to strong also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I used this recipe for New Year's and got rave reviews. I don't use the chile peppers or the vinegar. I sautee the garlic and onions first, when that is semi-translucent I add the meat (ham hocks, diced, off the bone). I use Goya black beans, strained. Add the bay leaf half way through and a bit of cilantro after that. Cook on a low fire until simmering and smelling the house up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
Thia was pretty good, and very easy. I made mine in the crockpot, and let simmer most of the day. I followed the advice of others and sauteed the veggies first in a little olive oil. My family is wimpy when it comes to "heat" so I reduced the peppers to just one , for their sake lol- and I honestly could have used both and it would have added much better flavor and not a lot of heat. This had amazing flavor and I did use the balsamic vinegar, I agree, it adds great flavor. The only thing I would do different, would be to wait to add my veggies until the last hour, given I chose the crock pot, and they lost all of their vibrant colors through all day cooking. I will definitely make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
Didn't use the vingear. Needed more garlic and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2010
Man, these are good! I used three cans of black beans instead of starting with beans from scratch and also made things easier by using a can of diced green chilies. Loved the flavor--I found the balsamic vinegar to be a great touch. These are great on their own or with tortilla chips. I'll be making these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jonny's Girl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2010
Made in crock pot. first soaked beans over night then drained. Added all other ingredients except garlic, vinegar,salt pepper. Then added water to just about cover beans. Cooked on low until soft. Before serving added garlic and pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ozone Park, New York, USA
Living In: Sayreville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
One of the world's great dishes! The idea is to have a spicy and maybe sweet-sour taste, with cumin, garlic & peppery-spicy veggies as you like. If you can't handle really hot foods use less spicy stuff. The salt, sugar (if any) & vinegar should be added sparingly,nt all at once, and balanced with each other. Easy to add, impossible to remove. Adding some good oil- like olive oil, or even some bacon or salt pork- will also bring out the flavor, just don't make it into a pork & beans dish. Garlic is good but don't overdo it. Add vinegar- of whatever flavor- sparingly. Everyone should make this to suit their own tastes but those who criticize it as bland are just not trying, and probably don't know how to cook! So far as beans go start with the right kind- dried black beans- wash them well to get rid of anything that isn't a bean, then soak them overnight or else hurry it up a bit by putting them on a very, very low stove. No matter how you do it it will still take many hours do do correctly. If not prepared correctly, long enough, they may seem soft but will have a mealy texture you won't like. Just take your time to have them soft enough but not mushy. Don't overstir when adding stuff or else you'll wind up with mush! And, if you just cannot stand any type of spicy food- no mattter how mild- try cooking something else, instead!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
In all honesty, I did not make this recipe. However, I am Cuban (as in FROM Cuba), and I will swear on a Bible that NO CUBAN EVER has used green chiles in their frijoles negros (black beans). While this may be a tasty "black bean" recipe, it is not - under any circumstances - a recipe for "Cuban black beans."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2010
We made these with white rice and ropa vieja for dinner tonight. They were great!! I read the reviews and used canned black beans since I forgot to plan ahead for dried, and everything still tasted great. Left out the chile peppers for my 6 and 7 year olds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Lexington, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I had to make some changes to this because I hate bell peppers. I used a can of green chili peppers instead. I also sauteed the onion before adding to the beans mixture and I highly recommend this to bring out the flavors. I used extra cumin and added some dried cilantro just because I had it in the pantry! I added creole seasoning for a little extra spice & also used red wine vinegar at the end instead of balsamic although I think either one would be great!! I truly believe that the vinegar is what makes this recipe authentic just like my favorite cuban restaurant. These beans taste even better the next day or even the day after! YUM! Oh yes, and soaking the beans for at least 8 hours is a must so they are tender when cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrieh82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States