Cuban Black Beans I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2013
I used small black beans, and next time I'll use the regular, but this was fantastic and a great side to Jamaican Jerk chicken and Jamaican rice, and Jamaican Cabbage. Fathers day was a great success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2013
I use canned black beans instead of dry raw beans. 5 cans is about the same as 1 pound dry beans. I make this recipe weekly
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Venice, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2013
I didn't care for it, but my dauhter loved it--so I rated it in-between. Since it was such a large portion, I went with the suggestion of a can of black beans and having the recipe--we added a can of hominy which gave it that extra touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2013
Pretty good recipe for black beans. I'm still searching for one that reminds me of what I had in Florida though...more Cuban. I would make it again. I served these over Basmati rice and swordfish on top of the beans. I used regular black beans (not canned) and did a quick soak method to hurry them along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2013
I make this recipe often and I think it's great. A few minor changes; I use only red bell peppers because I hate green ones; I increase the cumin and oregano to 2 tsp each, I add several diced tomatoes for a richer flavor and I add some frozen or fresh corn at the very end. Usually I use 2 seeded and diced hot red Mexican peppers. The vinegar adds a touch of tartness and is good. I serve it over rice or sometimes over diced oven roasted potatoes. I get a lot of compliments for this dish. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2012
I made this using the 2 cans of kidney beans available to me and it turned out very nice. I feel like that threw off the bean to pepper ratio, but it was a great cheap healthy dish. My main warning is to not put in too much water and to not go over an hour cooking with canned beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2012
balsamic seems to be optional and a would suggest a healthy dose of bold red wine and a splash of hot sause.. Excellent combination !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2012
Cuban Black Beans' Haiku: "Oh gosh these were good. Husband says, 'best beans ever!' (I followed naples.)" I used naples' review as a go-to, since I only had a can of black beans (oh, and no red bells, just green.) Pretty much did as written, and something about that combo of seasoning and the balsamic vinegar just made these so unusual and delicious! Ate them hot, sniggled a cold leftover bite, had more leftovers warmed in a tortilla w/ cheese - everytime just as good as the last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rock_lobster

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Braselton, Georgia, USA
Photo by Cooking Kitty
Reviewed: May 28, 2011
So much flavor! I loved these beans. As you can see I added corn and only had canned beans. I also only added 1/2 tablespoon of vineger. I think the spices work really well together and it doesnt need other spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cooking Kitty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2011
These were "fine" - nothing too special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 69) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Quinoa and Black Beans

Try this protein-packed, delicious vegan quinoa and bean dish.

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States