Cuban Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2002
This stew is excellent--a nice departure from the typical. I was skepical about the kids' response but they all loved it and are asking me to make it again! Go figure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cupertino, California, USA
Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2000
This recipe is delicious even my picky toddler ate it. I will be making this again very soon. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2000
i grew up eating cuban food, and this is pretty authentic. delicious! serve with black beans & yellow rice, and fried (ripe) plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2000
This is very good - "peasant food" I call it. I was a little hesitant with the ingredients like the olives, raisins and capers together, wasn't sure about the combination, but tried because of the other reviews. I am glad I did. Rich, a good winter meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2000
This is great with steamed rice. I make it quite often and give leftovers to my husband for him to eat the next day at work. Excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2000
Very tasty even though I had to improvise a little because we didn't have Sherry in the house. Cognac and a tablespoon of sugar make a nice substitute.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2000
I was sort of doubtful with the olives, capers and rasins. The combination makes a sweet and salty broth. I added some portabella mushrooms and it turned out great. The recipe doesn't specify when to add the red bell pepper, so I added it with the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2001
The best beef stew I've ever had. My husband rated it a 9!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2001
I love all kinds of stews and this was a great departure from common European stews. My husband raved and my son ate it without complaints, even with the olives. I departed from the recipe by slow cooking in a crock pot (love my crock pot!) - after browning meat, adding spices and simmering for 3 minutes. Ate it in a sourdough bread bowl - yummy. Next time must try more authentic Cuban meal with fried plantains.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2002
Thought this stew was great! Loved the olives and all the flavors worked very well together. Only next time I'm doubling the recipe because this didn't give me enough leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States