Cuban Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 1, 2004
I'm amazed that this recipe for "carne con papas" is EXACTLY how my Cuban grandmother made it. Even with the raisins! (Though I never put the raisins in - They may be Nature's Candy, but I don't go for them.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2004
Made for our gourmet cooking club of 8 people on 4/3/04. The stew was a hit as part of our Cuban inspired menu. Rave comments about the great blend of flavors with the unusual combination of ingredients. I did lightly dust the beef with flour before cooking and I rinsed the capers with water before adding them. Otherwise, doubled the recipe and followed it exactly. Served with an avocado soup, salad, crusty bread and white rice. Poured a red Italian wine from Umbria that held up well to the green olives. Slightly fruity rather than tangy. Dessert was a banana and pecan "Brown Betty" type topping served over a rum cake. The stew recipe is a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2004
I made this recipe in a crockpot and it was sooo awesome I ate it all week served over white rice. Thanks for a terrific recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2003
I make this stew with venison meat, and it's quickly becoming a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2003
Excellent stew. Will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I have to give this 5 stars. As I was cooking it I was afraid the kids would hate it and refuse to eat. It really is a very strange combination of ingredients and I never had anything like it before. Well, it was just delicious! The kids and I couldn't get enough. I served it with hot, crunchy Italian bread. This is a great dinner for a cold winter night and I will be making it again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Center Moriches, New York, USA
Living In: Black Mountain, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2003
Wonderful! Tried this recipe twice and both times it was a hit. Second time I added more raisins and created a nice balance of sweet and salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2003
What a nice change from the typical beef stew recipe. Really enjoyed the different flavors in this. I used a London Broil, coated the chunks with flour and browned in a small amount of oil first. Then proceeded with rest adding the potatoes at the same time as the water and cooked for about an hour. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
I've made this recipe twice. The first time I did it exactly as the recipe said. It was stunngingly delicious. The second time I didn't have bay leaves or red pepper. While still good, the recipe really needed each ingredient. This stew was popular even with several "picky" eaters that I tried it on. My husband would like me to try adding carrots; I haven't yet because it may change the flavor too much. This stew is scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
Lovely Flavor. I used beef top round & cut them into 1-inch cubes, added fresh cilantro, 1 cup of diced canned tomatoes instead of tomatoe sauce, green pepper instead of red, 1 tablespoon of paprika, half a seeded & chopped jalapeno, a sprinkle of red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper,white pepper, and 1 cup of sherry instead of half. Came out DELISH!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef Stew VI

See how to make a classic stovetop beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States