Cuban Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This dish is different from a american beef stew its very tasty and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I used pork tenderloin instead of beef, since it's what I had and needed to be used. It was perfect! I also had 2.5 pounds of meat, so I needed more sauce and added about 8 oz. of jarred Goya soffrito as well as the tomato sauce. I also used a little Goya seasoning and left out the olives and capers (although I love them) because it sounded strange. I also left out the raisins. Otherwise, this was a great recipe served with the Easy Arroz Con Gandules that I found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2006
This did not work for me at all. I thought I was going to love it based on the high rating and I like olives and capers! There was way too many flavor combinations in this. Be prepared for a very different and odd stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
I was worried about this one - ingredients seemed a little odd, but I tried it based on the 5-star rating. It was very good!!! Just don't make the mistake of telling the picky eaters in the family what's in it. My husband for example, hates raisins but ate an entire bowl thinking they were some kind of little beans because they were plump after cooking so long! I will definitely be making this one again this winter. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2005
I fed my family of 5 with this recipe. It was an EASY recipe. My husband and my sons ages 16 and 12 said on a scale of 1-10 (10 being best) they would give it a 7. My daughter rated it an 8. Personally, I was not floored. I rated it a 6. Perhaps I did something wrong. I truly feel like this was a flavorful beef stew period. Not something to write home about. I followed the recipe TO THE LETTER. I could not get the benefit of the raisins. Yes, the recipie is tangy. I like the tangy but I did not benefit from the sweet. Next time I think I'll leave out the olives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
YES! My Mamá used to make something similar. There was def. something missing in the texture. Will add carrots and perhaps a little corn starch next time to thicken. I let it simmer a lot longer than the recipe call for. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2005
This recipe makes the house smell soooo good! My husband raved about this dish. Served over rice. Next time I will add more raisins and more olives but will definitely make again. Very Good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Living In: Royal Palm Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
Delicious! Followed the recipe exactly (with the addition of some red pepper flakes for heat) and it was soooo tasty. The ingredients do seem a bit strange, but the combination of sweet and salty is what makes this dish so good...thanks S. Shames!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2005
Aside from using only 1 lb. of sirloin tips and adding a bag of baby carrots, I followed the recipe as written. My entire family loved this dish - even my stew-hating husband! I will definately be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2005
I was looking for a Cuban recipe and I don't know if this is authentic but, it was very good. I had to cook it at least two hours instead of the hour and a half. I really loved the raisins. This is a dish that is better the next day. I would definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States