Cuban Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
One of the best beef stews I've ever had and very easy to prepare. I did double the amount of beef and added some cornstarch and water to thicken the gravy - which was just a preference of mine. The sherry really does add to the flavoring. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This was a great recipe! My husband raved about it and I made it twice for him in one week. I added a little more tomato and garlic than the recipe called for, but it was fresh tomato ground up, not canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I followed the recipe except for using Capers and was disappointed. My family ate the meat and I ate some of the potatoes. The raisins were not bad, but overall, despite liking the individual ingredients, this combination of flavors must be an acquired taste-- we like to try new things in this household, but will leave this one alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marigat
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Very tasty stew. I used a full cup of dry sherry and golden raisins instead of the dark ones. I also doubled the cumin amount, the green olives, and the capers. We had large bakery fresh rolls on the side. My husband and I really appreciated the unique flavor, such a welcome change from old-fashioned beef stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Oh, my! I was looking for something different and I found it! The first time I made it, I followed the recipe as is. Everyone liked it, but thought it could have had a bit more "middle" (body). The second time I made it, I doubled the spices, cumin and oregano, and I used beef stock/broth instead of water. I also left out the capers for my family's preference. I cooked the potatoes separately, and on one occasion, I left out the potatoes all together and served it with rice. I also used green pepper because it's what we had. YUM! Either way, it's a hit. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey's Mom

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This was great just what was needed on this cold chilly night. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
The flavor was much more subdued than I had expected. It was... an interesting flavor. If I make it again, I'll add more heat to it (i.e. hot peppers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2006
This dish is different from a american beef stew its very tasty and simple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
I used pork tenderloin instead of beef, since it's what I had and needed to be used. It was perfect! I also had 2.5 pounds of meat, so I needed more sauce and added about 8 oz. of jarred Goya soffrito as well as the tomato sauce. I also used a little Goya seasoning and left out the olives and capers (although I love them) because it sounded strange. I also left out the raisins. Otherwise, this was a great recipe served with the Easy Arroz Con Gandules that I found on this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Sweet Summer Desserts
Sweet Summer Desserts

Summertime is all the sweeter with light desserts that satisfy without weighing you down.

Let's Make Zucchini Bread
Let's Make Zucchini Bread

Buried in zucchini? It's time to make zucchini bread! Choose from over 100 recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States