Cuban Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Great recipe! I usually make it with venison instead of beef, leave out the potatoes and serve over polenta. It's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Made this today for dinner and it was so good. I didnt have sherry nor red wine vinger so I didnt add it. I did however, add about 3/4 cup of Goya Sofrito to the sauce and it was just perfect. I also added a small can of veggies. I served this over a bed of rice and sweet plantains. Will definetly make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
One of the best beef stews I've ever had and very easy to prepare. I did double the amount of beef and added some cornstarch and water to thicken the gravy - which was just a preference of mine. The sherry really does add to the flavoring. Thanks submitter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodside, New York, USA
Living In: Linden, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2007
This was a great recipe! My husband raved about it and I made it twice for him in one week. I added a little more tomato and garlic than the recipe called for, but it was fresh tomato ground up, not canned.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
I followed the recipe except for using Capers and was disappointed. My family ate the meat and I ate some of the potatoes. The raisins were not bad, but overall, despite liking the individual ingredients, this combination of flavors must be an acquired taste-- we like to try new things in this household, but will leave this one alone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marigat
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2006
Very tasty stew. I used a full cup of dry sherry and golden raisins instead of the dark ones. I also doubled the cumin amount, the green olives, and the capers. We had large bakery fresh rolls on the side. My husband and I really appreciated the unique flavor, such a welcome change from old-fashioned beef stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Port Washington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2006
Oh, my! I was looking for something different and I found it! The first time I made it, I followed the recipe as is. Everyone liked it, but thought it could have had a bit more "middle" (body). The second time I made it, I doubled the spices, cumin and oregano, and I used beef stock/broth instead of water. I also left out the capers for my family's preference. I cooked the potatoes separately, and on one occasion, I left out the potatoes all together and served it with rice. I also used green pepper because it's what we had. YUM! Either way, it's a hit. Thanks!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bailey's Mom

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
This was great just what was needed on this cold chilly night. Thanks for the post.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2006
The flavor was much more subdued than I had expected. It was... an interesting flavor. If I make it again, I'll add more heat to it (i.e. hot peppers).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States