Cuban Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Nice recipe. To shorten the cooking time, I just pressure cooked the meat for about 35 mins on low heat. Also didn't have any sherry so replaced it with redo cooking wine. The stew was delicious and the meat very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Exactly what I craved. Excellent! I love the tangy taste. Used golden and regular raisins, did not have sherry, so I used white wine, served on top of red potatoes...YUM! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Oh, my, my, my, my, my! Or should I say, que bueno! My hubby LOVED this dish, giving it an off the charts "10"! Tweaks: I made exactly as directed except used beef broth instead of water, did not add potatoes, served with mashed (thanks previous reviewer), and added a tablespoon of cornstarch with beef broth at the end for a lovely gravy. AH, the sweet, the savory, very well done, indeed. Will be a winter classic in this home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This was great! I used stew beef and floured it before browning. Also substitued golden raisins for the regular, used beef brother rather than water and used a full cup of sherry rather than the 1/2 cup. My husband and I loved it, only problem was for some reason my kids wouldn't eat it...their loss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Great recipe! I used the suggestions and used beef broth instead of water and red pepper flakes. It took a bit long to the get potatoes tender. I used two small potatoes, one carrot, and japanese pumpkin for a mixture. I served it over white rice and it was great....my boyfriend raved over it. The flavor of the capers, raisins, and olives were amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
YES YES YES.....this is the real deal !!! I like the Orient (East Province of Cuba) touch with the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
We enjoyed eating this. It's very different to any other beef stew we have tried. It has kind of a sweet & tangy flavour. I left out the potatoes so I could serve it on mashed potato instead of on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Great recipe! I usually make it with venison instead of beef, leave out the potatoes and serve over polenta. It's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2007
Made this today for dinner and it was so good. I didnt have sherry nor red wine vinger so I didnt add it. I did however, add about 3/4 cup of Goya Sofrito to the sauce and it was just perfect. I also added a small can of veggies. I served this over a bed of rice and sweet plantains. Will definetly make this again. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2007
delicious
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Waupun, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Chef John's Beef and Barley Stew

Discover Chef John's delicious recipe for "stick to your ribs" stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States