Cuban Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
this was great.very flavourful comfort meal
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2008
I personally thought this was on the best meals I have ever made. By hubby of 13 years didn't think it was the best ever but he did enjoy it!LOL I made just a few changes because of what I had on hand. I subbed just a dry red whine, and balsamic vinegar, dried Italian seasoning and no bay leaf, yellow bell pepper and no capers. No potatoes, so I served it over yellow rice. I almost left out the raisins but decided to put them in. IT WAS AMAZING!!! The 4 year old I was babysitting asked for 3rds! There really wasn't any left over. Will be making again for sure!! Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Clearwater, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2008
Nice recipe. To shorten the cooking time, I just pressure cooked the meat for about 35 mins on low heat. Also didn't have any sherry so replaced it with redo cooking wine. The stew was delicious and the meat very tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2008
Exactly what I craved. Excellent! I love the tangy taste. Used golden and regular raisins, did not have sherry, so I used white wine, served on top of red potatoes...YUM! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TexasJen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Antonio, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
Oh, my, my, my, my, my! Or should I say, que bueno! My hubby LOVED this dish, giving it an off the charts "10"! Tweaks: I made exactly as directed except used beef broth instead of water, did not add potatoes, served with mashed (thanks previous reviewer), and added a tablespoon of cornstarch with beef broth at the end for a lovely gravy. AH, the sweet, the savory, very well done, indeed. Will be a winter classic in this home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2007
This was great! I used stew beef and floured it before browning. Also substitued golden raisins for the regular, used beef brother rather than water and used a full cup of sherry rather than the 1/2 cup. My husband and I loved it, only problem was for some reason my kids wouldn't eat it...their loss!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Great recipe! I used the suggestions and used beef broth instead of water and red pepper flakes. It took a bit long to the get potatoes tender. I used two small potatoes, one carrot, and japanese pumpkin for a mixture. I served it over white rice and it was great....my boyfriend raved over it. The flavor of the capers, raisins, and olives were amazing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2007
YES YES YES.....this is the real deal !!! I like the Orient (East Province of Cuba) touch with the raisins.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
We enjoyed eating this. It's very different to any other beef stew we have tried. It has kind of a sweet & tangy flavour. I left out the potatoes so I could serve it on mashed potato instead of on rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2007
Great recipe! I usually make it with venison instead of beef, leave out the potatoes and serve over polenta. It's always a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 127) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States