Cuban Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Not only is this very good, tasty, and authentic (I am half cuban) but so SIMPLE!!!!!! Trust me, I have a tough crowd with 2 young buys and they did not give me a hassle about finishing their dinner tonite. This recipe is definitely going in my file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I added way too much water. Go easy or it will be too soupy. I will also add some beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Yuuuuuummm. Such a nice change from a typical beef stew. I added half a can of Goya black beans... this added a great different texture to the soup. I served it with rice and sweet plantains. This is definitely a "wow" recipe worthy of company. I plan on freezing all of my leftovers for a special treat on a rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
Thank you for sharing this lovely recipe. My family loved this meal. I made enough so there would be leftovers, but my kids liked it so much, there was only enough left for one more serving! Changes I made: no raisins; substituted apple cider for the wine vinegar. We served it with optional side dishes of: white rice, salad, and sour dough bread. All sides went really well with the meal. My husband said that he really enjoyed the blend of spices and how they came together in the flavoring. For a change of pace, next time I will be serving it in small sourdough bread bowls and omitting the rice, as the sourdough really complements the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This is an awesome stew! Like some other reviewers, I cooked it in a slow cooker. I served it along with French bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kriston Scott

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bartlesville, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Lewistown, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Very easy and satisfying. Unfortunately, I didn't have any sherry, so I substituted beef broth. The flavor was nice, but I'm sure it would have been better with the wine... will have to make it again sometime as written. Good recipe, though - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2009
I thought it was going to be good but I did not care for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2009
Great recipe. We really enjoyed this. Browned the beef first then added onions etc. Used 2 1/2 cups water to cover the beef and added 1 Knorr beef boullion cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peach822

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fernandina Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2009
Really, really good. Suprisingly full of flavor for how easy it was to prepare. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IrishEyes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
This is what beef stew should taste like! I used chuck roast and omitted olives and capers, it's still good. Instead of sherry, I used Madeira. I also used a whole 15 oz can tomato sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan
Living In: Bellevue, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 128) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States