Cuban Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I was looking for something a little different and this was a great choice. It's very flavorful and satisfying. My alterations were to double the meat, onions and tomato sauce, and add a 7 oz can of diced green chiles. I also browned the meat first and then sauteed the onions on top of all the browned bits from the meat and deglazed with the sherry. This all helped to make a thick, dark gravy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
This was ok. Neither my husband or I thought it was great, just ok. I don't know if I will make it again - I have other stew recipes that I like much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Porterville, California, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I don't normally take the time to rate a recipe, but this was just NOT good at all. We ended up going out to dinner instead. And my husband LOVES Cuban food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Inga Matthews

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 5, 2010
Was ok, just didn't love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tampa, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2010
Love this recipe! Was looking for something cuban tasting to remind my boyfriend and I of our Key West vacation. Made it with fried plantains with lime chipotle dipping sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy Shugars

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pottsville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: York, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2010
Absolutely delicious!! I have never eaten (or cooked) any Cuban style food before. I am hooked, so very very good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Gold Canyon, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2010
Definitely comfort food. Always a winner in the fall. Sometimes I serve it in bread bowls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
Not only is this very good, tasty, and authentic (I am half cuban) but so SIMPLE!!!!!! Trust me, I have a tough crowd with 2 young buys and they did not give me a hassle about finishing their dinner tonite. This recipe is definitely going in my file!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2009
I added way too much water. Go easy or it will be too soupy. I will also add some beans next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2009
Yuuuuuummm. Such a nice change from a typical beef stew. I added half a can of Goya black beans... this added a great different texture to the soup. I served it with rice and sweet plantains. This is definitely a "wow" recipe worthy of company. I plan on freezing all of my leftovers for a special treat on a rainy day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Make-Ahead Slow Cooker Beef Stew

See how to make a flavorful beef stew with vegetables in a slow-cooker.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States