Cuban Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2003
I've made this recipe twice. The first time I did it exactly as the recipe said. It was stunngingly delicious. The second time I didn't have bay leaves or red pepper. While still good, the recipe really needed each ingredient. This stew was popular even with several "picky" eaters that I tried it on. My husband would like me to try adding carrots; I haven't yet because it may change the flavor too much. This stew is scrumptious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2003
Lovely Flavor. I used beef top round & cut them into 1-inch cubes, added fresh cilantro, 1 cup of diced canned tomatoes instead of tomatoe sauce, green pepper instead of red, 1 tablespoon of paprika, half a seeded & chopped jalapeno, a sprinkle of red pepper flakes, cayenne pepper,white pepper, and 1 cup of sherry instead of half. Came out DELISH!!! Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2003
This stew is so delicious and different than the tradition beef stew for a change. We all loved it! Thank You for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 12, 2003
This is a recipie I will definitely cook time and time again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2003
Hey there S. Shames this recipe of yours is just too cool and you just forget about those names who submitted complains, they are fools there were many who did induldge in this heavenly stew they ate so much, no room for ethel's fudge and next thing you'll know, it'll be a witches' brew..... DELICIOUS
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2003
I served this with Cuban bread (basically thin-crusted water bread) and went heavy on the olives and raisins. Definitely little different and not exactly fast, but tasty nonetheless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Loved this! Another hit at my Soup and Stew party. Interesting blending of flavors that only got better the longer it simmered away in the crock pot. Next time I will make it spicy by adding some crushed red pepper or a fresh jalapeno or two. Great Stew!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2003
Very tasty and easy recipe. I did not have any Sherry so I substituted with Madeira. Next time I would spice it up a bit more perhaps with red pepper flakes!? I did add more vinegar than called for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2003
This was very good. I wanted to slowcook it so the meat would be more tender so I coated the meat in some flour and browned it first in the olive oil, then placed in the slowcooker and added the other ingredients. I didn't have a red pepper so I used a green one instead. I didn't have any sherry on hand so I used beef broth instead and I accidentally used red cooking wine instead of red wine vinegar. It didn't make a difference - it still tasted great. The green olives and raisins were different and really good. Thanks S. Shames!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BABSKITCHEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2003
Very good, very flavorful. I didn't have sherry so I used 1/4 cup of port. Even my husband who doesn't usually like beef like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 129) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States