Cuban Beef Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2015
We loved every bite. Thank you for sharing your recipe. I served it with rice but next time I may try mashed plantains or yuca and omit the potatoes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
I was more than a little disappointed in this beef stew. I did everything as stated. Even sent out my son for capers and olives. The taste just wasn't there. Beef stew should be a comfort food. This was sadly lacking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2015
Savoury and memorable
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2015
This was really good. The recipe says to cook in a sauté pan. I wasn't sure how that would work once the liquid was added so I cooked the whole thing in a large sauce pot. I did make a few modifications because I didn't have exact ingredients: I left out the capers and potatoes, used a scant 1/4 c. of sliced spanish olives because that is what I had on hand, used half sherry and half pinot grigio. I added about 1/2c. Chicken broth. At the end, I added a 15 oz. can of kidney beans that were drained and rinsed because I did not think there looked like there was enough for 2 servings in the pan, let alone 6-8. In total, cooked for 2 hours, Served over jasmine rice. Yummy. One note for those who thought this was too watery. In general, if you cook something uncovered, the liquid will evaporate. So, I suggest checking the stew about 1/2 hour before it is done and if it is too liquidy, uncover it for the rest of cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2015
This recipe is a keeper! For my family's taste, I add a little more garlic, cumin and oregano. I do not care for cooked raisins and was pleasantly surprised that they mostly disintegrate into the stew. The depth of the broth is amazing. Thank you for your recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by cathy
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2015
So simple and delish! I will definitely share this recipe with others!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2014
Wonderful recipe. I did everything like the recipe stated. Next time I will omit the raisins though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2014
Almost didn't try this stew because some of ingredients just sounded weird. But the flavors that come out in the broth were delicious and the meat was totally yum. Try it you'll like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Bruner-Ruhm

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Morrison, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
Such a great flavor!! It went perfect with brown rice and steamed carrots with broccoli.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by stylefile
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
I do not like raisins so I didn't add any. I know it adds a bit of sweetness to the stew so I added about a cup of apple juice instead. Having no dry sherry, I used orange muscat. The stew still turned out wonderful and flavorful. As a time shortcut, I also added the potatoes before simmering the stew for an hour. That way, the potatoes were already soft when the meat became tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by stylefile

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Stevenson Ranch, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 135) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Beef & Guinness Stew

Dark beer does delicious things to traditional beef stew.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States