Cuban Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Very, very good recipe. I made a few changes, however, to spice it up and add flavor after reading some of the other reviews. 1: add 1 tsp. cumin powder to onions/garlic while cooking, 2: add one small can of diced mild chiles when you add the beans, 3: use broth (any kind) instead of water. Also diminish the amount of liquid to 2 cups instead of 2 and a 1/2. Hope this helps! Thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
128 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
I enjoyed the recipe in the spirit in which it is intended. A quick meal! You can use this as a jump-off point and add ingredient to your taste to enhance flavor. One criticism of most recipes that include rice as an ingredient, is that the authors rarely tell you what kind of rice they used. This is of prime importance as it can mean success or failure to the dish. The are MANY types of rice, ech with different flavors, texture, cooking time, ratio of water to rice, aromas, stickiness, etc. A variety of rice that is great for one dish, will spell trouble for another. SO please, in the future, ALWAYS include the type, and even the brand of rice you used. It will make you recipes much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
My husband and I both LOVED this dish - very tasty. I added two very large cloves of garlic and that was wonderful. Additionally, it was so much tastier the second day when the flavors had melded that I suggest making it the day before -if you can - and refrigerate it overnight!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Great tasting rice. I grew up on rice and peas (my mom's from the Dominican Republic). A few tips she passed on to me 1) Use GOOD QUALITY long grain rice. She swears by Mr. Goudas brand rice (never buy the generic stuff) and her west indian friends buy this brand as well. Generic rice tends to turn out too sticky 2) I use a ratio of 2:1 of liquid to rice. My mom always tells me it's better to add more water at the end than to start off with too much liquid at the beginning which you can't fix later. The rice was the perfect consistency when done. Thanks for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASON204

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Let simmer 60 minutes plus to fully absorb liquids. I added some cayenne pepper and cumin to spice it up a bit. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
I am from Panama and we also have rice and beans as a staple. I have been living in Canada for the past 4 years and this definitely was a taste from home!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
Very filling. I upped the amount of rice to 1 1/2 cups (it was parboiled rice - I don't know if that makes a difference) to avoid the mushy and wet consistency from earlier ratings. It needs some spices to make it really sensational - chili powder, cumin, cayenne and of course HOT SAUCE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Great recipe! I cooked it about 42 minutes. I added about a half tablespoon of chili powder and used a can of chili beans instead of kidney beans. Put in a tortilla with cheese and sour cream and you have a first rate burrito! Tastes like ones you buy at Baja Fresh! Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
We found this recipe a bit bland and intend on spicing it up a little next time with some chilli, cracked black pepper and topping with some deep fried basil leaves, but as a base it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
I loved it when it was first finished cooking. It was soupy and reminded me of chili. When my family at it later on, the rice had absorbed most of the juice. We liked it, but my preference was soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States