Cuban Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2001
I added 1/4 tsp. cumin. Just enough to enhance the flavours of this dish. I also used chicken broth instead of water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TLYONS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2001
I thought this was very good and easy. Even my kids liked it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
I really liked this one. I used black beans and added some cumin (as another reviewer suggested), as well as some chili powder.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2001
This one is a keeper! Very rich and tomatoey, also very filling. Garlic lovers: feel free to get a little carried away with this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2001
This is quite good, and very easy to make. Don't forget the hot sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2001
Good, but it would be better if not cooked for so long. I cut 8 minutes off the time, and everything was already very soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bryan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Loris, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Simpsonville, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2001
Very filling. I upped the amount of rice to 1 1/2 cups (it was parboiled rice - I don't know if that makes a difference) to avoid the mushy and wet consistency from earlier ratings. It needs some spices to make it really sensational - chili powder, cumin, cayenne and of course HOT SAUCE!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2001
This recipe was great. When I was preparing it, I didn't think the flavor was going to be that great because of the lack of spices, but was I wrong! It's simple but tasty. My husband went crazy over it, and he was brought up on Cuban cuisine. I will definitely make this again...and again. Thanks, Chris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2001
I enjoyed the recipe in the spirit in which it is intended. A quick meal! You can use this as a jump-off point and add ingredient to your taste to enhance flavor. One criticism of most recipes that include rice as an ingredient, is that the authors rarely tell you what kind of rice they used. This is of prime importance as it can mean success or failure to the dish. The are MANY types of rice, ech with different flavors, texture, cooking time, ratio of water to rice, aromas, stickiness, etc. A variety of rice that is great for one dish, will spell trouble for another. SO please, in the future, ALWAYS include the type, and even the brand of rice you used. It will make you recipes much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
81 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2002
easy and tastey, cumin is a nice added touch
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States