Cuban Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: May 11, 2005
This is so good and budget friendly! This tastes like you let this simmer away all day with minimal effort. The only changes I made were to add 1 teaspoon of dried thyme, 2 bay leaves while it cooked (discard bay leaves bfore serving) and hot sauce to make it a little more like red beans and rice. We're making this again this week. This would be great dressed up with some fresh shrimp for entertaining too. Thank you Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Spongebob7

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Carmel, New York, USA
Living In: Danbury, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2005
Basic recipe that you really should add to jazz it up a bit. I found it a bit bland as written. I should also mention that the rice wasn't completely cooked after 50 minutes. I wish I had started the rice separately before adding it to the mixture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2005
After reading the reviews on this recipe I made a few alterations which made a very enjoyable dish. I added thyme and bay leaves while cooking the rice. I added the beans during the last 20 minutes of cooking and they held their shape extremely good while soaking up the juices. I also,used a little more liquid than called for. I added the spicy sausage at the end and all turned out super. I will serve a bottle of hot sauce with dinner so everyone's tastebuds will be satisfied. I did not actually time the cooking time of the rice I just checked it every so often and finished using my own time schedule. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2004
This is an excellant recipe. I am not sure why some of the others did not like it. I add crushed red pepper to the pot when I am cooking the garlic and onion because I like things spicy. It does take quite a while to cook, but is well worth it. Thanks a bunch!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2004
my family really liked this pot of beans! We are on a really tight grocery budget, and were looking for some new recipes that didn't require alot of expensive ingredients. This one did the trick. It stuck with us for hours, had a mild flavor that the kids ( even the baby) were able to eat without complaint, and was great smothered with hot sauce for those of us who like it spicy. I've actually made it three times in the last ten days...of course I don't think that will be a constant habit, but great to have a budget freindly recipe on hand that everybody liked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2004
This was just okay. It really wasn't what I was expecting. I had a craving for some really meaty tasting, spicy, beans and rice. This came out more like a mushy, tomato-based Spanish rice. It was pretty bland, too, even though I added garlic powder and lots of extra cumin. The addition of some hot sauce helped a little, but it still wasn't all that appetizing. The rice was way too mushy and the proportion of beans to rice wasn't enough. I would add a second can of beans next time and nix the tomato paste. Won't be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2004
I make this as a side with the Cuban Pork Roast I on this site. I add some of the juice drippings from the pork to the rice and use black beans instead which is traditionally used in cuban cooking instead of kidney beans. The 2 recipes make a great dinner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rapid City, South Dakota, USA
Living In: Atascocita, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2004
This was an average tasting recipe which I found to be a bit bland. I will make it again, with a few modifications to "spice it up." Cumin and lots of garlic are a must for this, as is some type of hot sauce. This will be a fine side dish to serve along with garlic roasted chicken. David
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by david4ania

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
It's just like it sounds...beans, tomoatoes, vegetables...it's pretty good...I substituted some vegetable broth instead of all water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
This was so awesome! My whole family loved it. It is so versitile. Main dish, side dish, or chip dip! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States