Cuban Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
The cumin and ground black pepper mentioned by earlier reviewers, plus the addition of a mild andouille sausage in small quantities was the perfect addition to this easy dish. It was even tasty with brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGMOMSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
My family loves this. Especially my 2 year old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2006
This was good. I added more garlic.the cooking method did not seem right. I added less water and simmered for 20 min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2005
This was a big disapointment. It is very, very bland and needs a lot of help in the taste dept. The only change I made was to replace some of the water with a cup of beef broth I had left over from the Cuban Ropa Vieja.It probably would have been even more bland if I had used all the water that the recipe calls for. I don't think I'll be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Very tasty! I used black beans instead of the kidney beans, and added some cumin as well. I served this with the Cuban Ropa Vieja recipe from this site, and the two were perfect together!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Evanston, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2005
Scrumdillicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
Great dish! I added a load of cumin and black pepper to spice it up a bit, and I also added the kidney beans in the last ten minutes of cooking, as suggested by another reviewer. I added corn to the mix for a bit more color and nutrition, and just as promised, it came out great, even reheated and eaten with tortillas! I made breakfast burritos out of it the next morning with a little green enchilada sauce and cheese. Yummy!! I will make this a million times, I'm sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2005
Great tasting rice. I grew up on rice and peas (my mom's from the Dominican Republic). A few tips she passed on to me 1) Use GOOD QUALITY long grain rice. She swears by Mr. Goudas brand rice (never buy the generic stuff) and her west indian friends buy this brand as well. Generic rice tends to turn out too sticky 2) I use a ratio of 2:1 of liquid to rice. My mom always tells me it's better to add more water at the end than to start off with too much liquid at the beginning which you can't fix later. The rice was the perfect consistency when done. Thanks for an excellent recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MASON204

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2005
Very good. I use couscous that is prepared in vegetable broth. It's also good if you put a piece of provolone or jack cheese on top of your serving and microwave it for 10 seconds to melt it. Black beans can be used instead of kidney beans. Canned corn can also be thrown in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARON1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2005
This was absolutely fabulous! I'm a college student who was taking an international food and culture class and it required me to make a dish, since my project was on Cuba, I decided to make this. The class and the professor both were blown away by this simple dish. However, I added andouille sausage just to add more, but anyway I received an "A" Thanks again for this easy and delicious recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSROXY2169

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Allrecipes Magazine
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States