Cuban Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Good recipe, since all family members enjoyed. Also added vegetarian broth cube to water, as well as paprika, cumin and a dash of hot sauce! I'll be making this one again, maybe substituting half BROWN rice to make it even healthier. Rounded out the meal with a quickie fruit salad - drained fruit cocktail mixed with a cup of vanilla yogurt, chopped banana and sprinkle of cinnamon. All in all, a simple, filling and healthy meal. Thanks for the beans/rice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
really easy and yummy on a very cold winter night. Only thing I might change is the liquid from the beans...use less next time and same amount of water! Otherwise tasty..I added a little cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Sooo good! I made a few changes to this, based on other reviewers comments that it was a bit bland. I added half a jalepeno for some spice, along with an extra clove of garlic. I added cumin to the onions at the beginning, and a few shakes of cayenne pepper later on. I used broth instead of the reserved bean water, and black beans instead of white. The end result was delicious, and anything but bland. Try the leftovers wrapped in a tortilla with a bit of cheddar. It was so easy too - I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Very good recipe. You have to be careful or the rice will burn, although I liked the crunchy aspect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Really good, the flavors mixed well and the rice was fully cooked as directed. Didn't even need much salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amninta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
These were yummy! Thing only thing I added was a bit of cumin. Very easy to make, and they were a perfect side dish for an enchilada recipe I made from this site. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
My husband emailed me this recipe so I made it without reading the reviews first. As others have said it was very bland. This recipe is a good starting point to a great recipe you just have to spice it up a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2006
This was really good, after spicing it up a little with cumin and a sprinkling of cayenne. Used broth instead of water, slightly less than 2 1/2 cups. Next day mixed in cooked chicken & made burritos - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MADBALL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bolingbrook, Illinois, USA
Living In: San Marcos, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2006
Very, very good recipe. I made a few changes, however, to spice it up and add flavor after reading some of the other reviews. 1: add 1 tsp. cumin powder to onions/garlic while cooking, 2: add one small can of diced mild chiles when you add the beans, 3: use broth (any kind) instead of water. Also diminish the amount of liquid to 2 cups instead of 2 and a 1/2. Hope this helps! Thanks for a yummy recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
126 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2006
The cumin and ground black pepper mentioned by earlier reviewers, plus the addition of a mild andouille sausage in small quantities was the perfect addition to this easy dish. It was even tasty with brown rice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEGMOMSTER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cumming, Georgia, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States