Cuban Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I've been making this recipe for over seven years. It is excellent and a great recipe for those Christians who fast from meat on Fridays or during Lent...The flavors are mild and my children like this dish a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
really great starting point. i used what i had on hand-- 2 chopped tomatoes and a splash of chili sauce, plus 1/3 jalapeno pepper. used long grain brown rice at a 1:2 ratio rice to chicken broth. also added some cubed butternut squash at same time as rice, and then some chopped boneless, skinless chicken thighs, 'cause I have to have my meat protein!.... this turned out medium spicy and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Great side dish and it's stuff I usually have in my pantry, so it was convenient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2007
Quick, easy and hits the spot
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2007
Good recipe, since all family members enjoyed. Also added vegetarian broth cube to water, as well as paprika, cumin and a dash of hot sauce! I'll be making this one again, maybe substituting half BROWN rice to make it even healthier. Rounded out the meal with a quickie fruit salad - drained fruit cocktail mixed with a cup of vanilla yogurt, chopped banana and sprinkle of cinnamon. All in all, a simple, filling and healthy meal. Thanks for the beans/rice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2007
really easy and yummy on a very cold winter night. Only thing I might change is the liquid from the beans...use less next time and same amount of water! Otherwise tasty..I added a little cumin.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
Sooo good! I made a few changes to this, based on other reviewers comments that it was a bit bland. I added half a jalepeno for some spice, along with an extra clove of garlic. I added cumin to the onions at the beginning, and a few shakes of cayenne pepper later on. I used broth instead of the reserved bean water, and black beans instead of white. The end result was delicious, and anything but bland. Try the leftovers wrapped in a tortilla with a bit of cheddar. It was so easy too - I'll definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2006
Very good recipe. You have to be careful or the rice will burn, although I liked the crunchy aspect. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lu

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2006
Really good, the flavors mixed well and the rice was fully cooked as directed. Didn't even need much salt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amninta

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coral Springs, Florida, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2006
These were yummy! Thing only thing I added was a bit of cumin. Very easy to make, and they were a perfect side dish for an enchilada recipe I made from this site. Will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 116) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States