Cuban Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This rice was a hit! I made it for the first time as a side to fajitas for a get-together in my home. I added a little spice, but it's nice as is. I will definitely make it again! (Hey this will make plenty for about 6 people, I added more and had a soup pot full! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jealsa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
I didn't have any bell pepper, and used black beans instead of kidney. My husband absolutely loved it, and my 21 month old DD loved it too! I'm making it again tonight the same way as last.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2008
Was okay - a bit on the bland side. Will make again, but up the garlic and add some spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey Smith Briggs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
I used brown rice and made the recipe as directed. The flavor was good, but the rice was very undercooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I used the liquid from the beans and a can of chicken broth and then the rest of the measuring cup I filled with water to make 2 1/2 cups of liquid. The thing about this recipe is that you should use all the liquid because the rice will soak it up. I also used wild rice and pinto beans, it was fantastic! Thank You!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 17, 2008
Wow! This dish has become a staple of our family. I can make a giant batch of it and it last us forever and is good everytime! The only thing I added was a little chilli powder to the onions right before I dump everything else in. Great reciepe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
This was excellent, I didn't change anything, easy Cuban cuisine!!!!Thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Harrisville, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: West Warwick, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2008
I've been making this recipe for over seven years. It is excellent and a great recipe for those Christians who fast from meat on Fridays or during Lent...The flavors are mild and my children like this dish a lot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
really great starting point. i used what i had on hand-- 2 chopped tomatoes and a splash of chili sauce, plus 1/3 jalapeno pepper. used long grain brown rice at a 1:2 ratio rice to chicken broth. also added some cubed butternut squash at same time as rice, and then some chopped boneless, skinless chicken thighs, 'cause I have to have my meat protein!.... this turned out medium spicy and tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mighty moose

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Whitehorse, Yukon, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2007
Great side dish and it's stuff I usually have in my pantry, so it was convenient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States