Cuban Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2009
This was a good side dish to accompany the Fajita Chicken Marinade from this site. My only complaint is that it's a bit bland. But nothing some cumin and chili powder couldn't fix. I really liked the ease of preparation, and it's really healthy. Will make again with additional spices. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2009
This is very good. I added a little cumin and black pepper to the recipe and it was a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marg Molnar

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I added extra vegetables and used chicken stock instead of water and the kidney bean juices. I also added cumin, chili powder, cayenne and a touch of cinnamon. Delicious served with avocado, cilantro, and cheese!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: North Ridgeville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
I didn't make this but I assigned it to a guest at our Taste of the Tropics dinner party and she made it with her husband. It was very flavorful and the perfect side to our Trinidad Stewed Chicken! It didn't seem quite as "wet" as the picture, but it didn't seem to make any difference. I will make this again myself, but I think I'll make it a little spicy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2009
Loved this dish. Was looking for menu options while on a 21 day no meats, no sweets fast. Made this three times with brown rice which can present a challenge versus some white rice. Grew up on "peas and rice" from the islands and my mother's best friend from Panama's coconut rice and peas. This one's committed to memory and in the recipe box just in case. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookingood
Home Town: Harlem, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2009
Really Good! I think next time I am going to add more spice because I was a little blah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Bowling Green, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
A little bland for my taste. I guess I was expecting something with a little more flavor and I followed the reviews that spiced it up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
Very delicious! I decreased the liquid to 2 cups and that worked well. It had a nice blend of salty flavor and a little sweetness from the tomato paste. I added some chili powder for heat and omitted the green pepper because I didn't have ite. Great option for a meal on a budget!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alisha

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2008
This was very yummy! I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This rice was a hit! I made it for the first time as a side to fajitas for a get-together in my home. I added a little spice, but it's nice as is. I will definitely make it again! (Hey this will make plenty for about 6 people, I added more and had a soup pot full! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jealsa

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States