Cuban Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This recipe is good with some changes. I used "sason accent with coriander and annatto" (culantro y achiote) instead of tomato paste (I don't like the taste) and used only 1 1/2 cups of water and the liquid in the can of beans. I also used "chorizo" (a spaniard dry sausage) and "adobo goya" to taste. (this way no salt is necessary). It was very good. A NOTE: Cuban food is NOT SPICY; it has spices as herbs and seasonings(basil, oregano, pepper, salt, etc). I know, I was born in Cuba and although I grew up in New York City, my mother always cooked cuban food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azurekitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This recipe is great! I had to substitute a few things; I can't eat the peppers so I omitted them. I only had a can of chili kidney beans, so I used those and added 2 cups of water. I also love garlic, so I added 5 cloves. My husband and I ate this for dinner with cheese on top; it was awesome! I also had some the next day with my scrambled eggs. Thank you for sharing a great recipe! I bought all the ingredients (minus the peppers!) to make it again! A good meal or side or breakfast food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLoomis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2009
Like many other reviewers, I spiced this one up a bunch with some cumin, chili powder, and crushed peppers, but this is a great base to start from.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2009
This was bland compared to the spice we are accustomed to. It was easy, and one could spice it up a lot if desired. A good base recipe to work from, but bland as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2009
A great base recipe. Cut back to only 2 cups liquid or you will get mushy rice. I felt it needed a little spice and added diced green chilies...just what it needed! Will definitely make again, it's so easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
A very good rice dish. Added an assortment of what is called Cuban Spice to it .... yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Summerpls

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lachute, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
My roommate used to make this all time. Hated the roommate loved the recipe and I was afraid I wouldn't be able to recreate it, but this recipe is the same he used. The differences I used pinto beans it worked great also I threw in some chicken with the rice and let it boil it gave it some extra flavor. I didn't use the veggies so I added more spices and tomato paste and it turned out great. I ate it with some pita bread and I am very satisfied.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2009
Like most Cuban food, a little short on flavor. Kick it up with some Sazon and the black beans are better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Living In: Alice Springs, Northern Territory, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
This is authentic in flavor and taste according to my cuban friend. Cuban food is NOT spicy contrary to popular belief. I will use this again and again. I have already gotten requests!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2009
My husband made this one night...I wasn't too sure but was game to try. It was addictive! Very nice flavors, and quite easy to make too! Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States