Cuban Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2010
This was very nice. I used black beans because that was what I had, and for color I used a red onion, and half red pepper half yellow. Very tasty, a nice match for the cuban pork I also cooked. I'll definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Nicholasville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Wilmore, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
I love this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
Very tasty! I did add a little extra garlic and some cumin as well. It came together quickly on the stovetop and was nice and filling for a vegetarian dish. Thanks Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by connorsmom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hartville, Ohio, USA
Living In: North Canton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
PERFECT! This was super easy and tasted delicious. This will be regular item for us!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2010
This was really good and super-easy to make. I added extra garlic (I love that stuff) and used brown rice instead of white. Turned out to be a pretty healthy and quick meal. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: College Park, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by witchywoman
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
I've always skipped over recipes with tomato paste in them because I just don't care for the taste of it. I'm not a overly huge fan of beans and rice together, either. I was pleasantly suprised with the taste of this dish...it was actually quite tasty and super easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by witchywoman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Forks, Washington, USA
Living In: Woodland, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Although I enjoyed this, the family thought there were too many beans. In the Democratic home we have 3start was the majority. Buty, I will try this again with more rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LaLee

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lorain, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
Delicious - Very easy to prepare - Thinking that next time I may add some finely chopped jalapeno about 5 minutes before done to give a little heat and crunch. Also next time I will chop the green pepper finer - the big pieces I used were just a bit too mushy in the final product.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Roanoke, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
This recipe is good with some changes. I used "sason accent with coriander and annatto" (culantro y achiote) instead of tomato paste (I don't like the taste) and used only 1 1/2 cups of water and the liquid in the can of beans. I also used "chorizo" (a spaniard dry sausage) and "adobo goya" to taste. (this way no salt is necessary). It was very good. A NOTE: Cuban food is NOT SPICY; it has spices as herbs and seasonings(basil, oregano, pepper, salt, etc). I know, I was born in Cuba and although I grew up in New York City, my mother always cooked cuban food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by azurekitty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
This recipe is great! I had to substitute a few things; I can't eat the peppers so I omitted them. I only had a can of chili kidney beans, so I used those and added 2 cups of water. I also love garlic, so I added 5 cloves. My husband and I ate this for dinner with cheese on top; it was awesome! I also had some the next day with my scrambled eggs. Thank you for sharing a great recipe! I bought all the ingredients (minus the peppers!) to make it again! A good meal or side or breakfast food!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DLoomis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sevierville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 111) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States