Cuban Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Delicious! I sprinkled a little bit of grated chedder and a few shakes of hot sauce in my bowl. I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This was alright. Nothing spectacular. I used basmati rice and omitted the green pepper (because I did not have any on hand). Also, upon tasting the water and finding it a bit too bland I added a little chilli pepper and black pepper. I think it has too much water because the rice turns mushy. Perhaps I should have used Uncle Ben's rice because that stuff never turns to mush. Oh, well, it's definitely a healthy meal with the beans substituting for the protein and it's easy to make. I might make it again if I am short on time and patience and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Great recipe! I cooked it about 42 minutes. I added about a half tablespoon of chili powder and used a can of chili beans instead of kidney beans. Put in a tortilla with cheese and sour cream and you have a first rate burrito! Tastes like ones you buy at Baja Fresh! Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I only cooked it for 25 minutes and it turned out a little too mushy. I'm not quite sure what happened... Otherwise I wish I would have added some more spices/flavor. The aroma was great, but the flavor was a little bland. Maybe next time! Thanks for sharing, Chris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This a good, basic recipe you can use as a side dish to temper a spicy main dish, or you could spice it up and add kielbasa. However, when it says in the directions to put the dish on low, the author didn't mention to bring the dish to a simmer and THEN reduce the temp on low. Mine turned out a little mushy, but I think I may have done something wrong. I liked it though, and will make it again. It's very versital.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Let simmer 60 minutes plus to fully absorb liquids. I added some cayenne pepper and cumin to spice it up a bit. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
We found this recipe a bit bland and intend on spicing it up a little next time with some chilli, cracked black pepper and topping with some deep fried basil leaves, but as a base it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
My husband and I both LOVED this dish - very tasty. I added two very large cloves of garlic and that was wonderful. Additionally, it was so much tastier the second day when the flavors had melded that I suggest making it the day before -if you can - and refrigerate it overnight!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2002
I loved it when it was first finished cooking. It was soupy and reminded me of chili. When my family at it later on, the rice had absorbed most of the juice. We liked it, but my preference was soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
This dish was superb, and so easy. I loved the flavor. I am not big on green peppers, so I omitted them, and I have eaten the recipe twice already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States