Cuban Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2003
It's just like it sounds...beans, tomoatoes, vegetables...it's pretty good...I substituted some vegetable broth instead of all water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2003
This was so awesome! My whole family loved it. It is so versitile. Main dish, side dish, or chip dip! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2003
Delicious! I sprinkled a little bit of grated chedder and a few shakes of hot sauce in my bowl. I will definately be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2003
This was alright. Nothing spectacular. I used basmati rice and omitted the green pepper (because I did not have any on hand). Also, upon tasting the water and finding it a bit too bland I added a little chilli pepper and black pepper. I think it has too much water because the rice turns mushy. Perhaps I should have used Uncle Ben's rice because that stuff never turns to mush. Oh, well, it's definitely a healthy meal with the beans substituting for the protein and it's easy to make. I might make it again if I am short on time and patience and ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2003
Great recipe! I cooked it about 42 minutes. I added about a half tablespoon of chili powder and used a can of chili beans instead of kidney beans. Put in a tortilla with cheese and sour cream and you have a first rate burrito! Tastes like ones you buy at Baja Fresh! Very yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2002
I only cooked it for 25 minutes and it turned out a little too mushy. I'm not quite sure what happened... Otherwise I wish I would have added some more spices/flavor. The aroma was great, but the flavor was a little bland. Maybe next time! Thanks for sharing, Chris.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2002
This a good, basic recipe you can use as a side dish to temper a spicy main dish, or you could spice it up and add kielbasa. However, when it says in the directions to put the dish on low, the author didn't mention to bring the dish to a simmer and THEN reduce the temp on low. Mine turned out a little mushy, but I think I may have done something wrong. I liked it though, and will make it again. It's very versital.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2002
Let simmer 60 minutes plus to fully absorb liquids. I added some cayenne pepper and cumin to spice it up a bit. Very tasty!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2002
We found this recipe a bit bland and intend on spicing it up a little next time with some chilli, cracked black pepper and topping with some deep fried basil leaves, but as a base it is very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2002
My husband and I both LOVED this dish - very tasty. I added two very large cloves of garlic and that was wonderful. Additionally, it was so much tastier the second day when the flavors had melded that I suggest making it the day before -if you can - and refrigerate it overnight!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 115) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Red Beans and Rice from Hillshire Farm®

Bring a taste of the bayou to your table in just minutes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States