Cuban Beans and Rice Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 25, 2014
I used dry pinto beans instead - 1 and 1/2 cup cooked. Worked fine. I followed the recommendation to add seasoning: 1 tsp cumin, i/2 tsp cayanne pepper, 1/8 tsp garlic powder, 1/8 tsp season salt. Garnished with cheddar cheese - delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2014
This recipe was pretty good. I think it needs a little more spice so next time I will do what some other reviewers said and add some cumin and maybe a little cayenne pepper to it. My whole family ate it though so I am sure this will be made again! This was a nice recipe to have to change it up from the things that I usually make, and that always keeps dinner time interesting. Thank you for the recipe, Chris!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristen B.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wichita, Kansas, USA
Photo by TyriaQuintanar
Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2014
Today is 1-1/2014 and I cooked this meal. Very good. I used black beans instead of kidney and I used cumin and chicken broth. My family and I are very pleased I will make this all the time.. This taste very close to our cuban restaurant we used to go to in l.a called Versailles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by KM
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
I really liked this dish...but I used red peppers and black beans because that is what I had on hand! I did end up adding some cumin while cooking the onions just because I love it! Only used 2 cups of liquid because of other reviews I read saying it was too soupy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I followed this recipe almost exactly but made some recommended changes and one BIG mistake - which turned out to be a good thing!! 1)I added 1/2 tbsp each chili powder and cumin seeds. Would increase that in the future and add a little cayenne. 2) My mistake - I used 4.5 cups of water instead of 2.5!!! I grabbed the wrong measuring cup and poured the can liquid into it and added water. It was simmering for about 20 min when I realized, and when I checked it a lot of the liquid had already evaporated. In the end it was the perfect consistency, like a thick chili, definitely not watery or soupy. I added a bit more salt, stirred it up, and when I served it up I added hot sauce for a kick. I'll make this again. It's easy and tastes good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
Very good. I used short grain brown rice and had to add 20 minutes to time
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2013
I love this, its a great base, and since my family likes spice, I add Cumin, Jalapenos, and sometimes Tabasco sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
this is the best dish, my family loves it
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2012
This was an easy and filling meal. I added 1/2 tsp of cumin as was suggested by another reviewer. I also added a can of diced roasted tomatoes. I wish I had added some vegan sausage to it to give it that little bit of extra spice it needed. Next time, I will do exactly the same plus some vegan sausage.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
This was easy and fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 112) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Black Beans and Rice

Easy seasoned black beans and white rice, it’s the perfect meal.

Authentic Louisiana Red Beans and Rice

Get set for some serious Cajun flavor!

Best Black Beans

You won’t believe how simple this black bean side dish is. Enjoy!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States