Crystal's Chocolate Chip Pumpkin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
These were not very good. Baked them exactly.. Just mushy in your mouth.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lovestory

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MunchiesDepudged
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2010
This recipe is great as written! Like another user mentioned. Uses butter and lots of pumpkin. (Almost double the amount most recipes call for) I made some changes to make it healthier and suit my own tastes. I used 2 1/4 cups of whole wheat flour, 1 tsp baking powder, 1/2 tsp baking soda, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1 1/2 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 cup melted butter, 1/2 cup low fat buttermilk, 1/2 cup BROWN sugar, 5 packets of Splenda, 2 tbs flax+1/2 cup water pureed till smooth (substitutes the eggs), 2 cups of pumpkin, 1 TBS vanilla, and 1 cup of semisweet chocolate chips. I decided to use melted butter to blend in the brown sugar better. The full cup of butter is really not necessary but definitely needed for the wonderful flavor of butter. The buttermilk that substituted for the other 1/2 cup of butter provided the rich flavor that apple sauce/ yogurt won't provide. I didn't use the walnuts but I'm sure they would be delicious. Perhaps even better with toasted pecans. Drop them by rounded tbs on the cookie sheet and flattened them out slightly because they don't spread much. I baked mine at 375 degrees for 19 minutes. They may look done earlier but they are not! The large amount of pumpkin takes a while to cook through. After baking, the result is a crisp outside and soft inside cake-like cookie. Amazing rich buttery pumpkin flavor cookie. My house smelled just like Thanksgiving time when I was baking. Definitely try it this way. Hopefully my review helped. =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MunchiesDepudged

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
These were delicious. I halved the butter just to make it a little healthier, and the results were fine. My husband and all three kids loved these. Everyone ate until I told them no more...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2009
very good, but I added more flour to total about 3 cups in order to make them a little more chewy like a regular chocolate chip cookie, and less cake-like. They're still not totally like regular cookies, but they're closer. Great idea, they taste great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Emily Walker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Naperville, Illinois, USA
Living In: Taipei, Taipei, Taiwan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2009
These were pretty good especially when dipped in milk. Added a little bit of brown sugar and cinnamon maybe next time I'll add a little bit of butter milk. They seemed like something was missing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2009
Not good! No flavor at all. I adjusted the recipe with more cinnamon, pumpkin spice, and allspice after the first dozen came out bland. They could not be saved. Do not bother with these cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sara_in_the_kitchen

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fountain City, Indiana, USA
Living In: Westfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2009
These are really good; the whole family loved them. I thought I'd try cream cheese frosting on them but they were MUCH better left alone!!! I followed the suggestions of pounding the baking sheet on the counter to flatten them a bit 1st and then baked mine for 16 min. @ 350. They turned out soft, moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
I did not care for these. I was hopeful that they would be less "cake-like" as all pumpkin cookie recipes are (due to the picture and the all-butter recipe), but they were quite cake-like after all. they weren't quite pumpkin spice enough for my tastes either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I also substitued whole wheat flour and used butterscotch chips instead of chocolate chips. Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
I wanted opinions: Any idea on how to make them more chewy and less cake-like? Great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Maureen

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 21-30 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Cookies

Here’s a cookie for the pumpkin pie and chocolate lovers!

Chef John's Chocolate Chip Cookies

Chocolate chip cookies that are the best of both cookie worlds, crispy and chewy.

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States