Crystal's Chicken Saltimbocca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2007
I am actually rating my version of this recipe. I bought thin cut chicken breasts, rolled them up with FRESH spinach, proscuitto, provalone and 1 basil leaf (under the spinach so it soaks into the chicken). I rolled them in breadcrumbs, secured them with toothpicks and browned the outside in olive oil and garlic. Then I put them into a baking dish, poured in the garlicky olive oil from the pan added about a tablespoon of butter, tore up a couple of sage leaves, poured in some white wine, covered the pan and baked them for about 20 minutes and then uncovered for 10. Awesome, awesome. It was one of the best things I have ever made. The sage made it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
52 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2005
I served this at our backyard party. Everyone LOVED it. I layered the ingredients instead of making rolls. I baked it in the oven. It was wonderful! Thanks for a great recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2006
I used this recipe as a gude and made the following modifications. Flattened chicken breast as suggested, placed proscitto on top, placed some fresh baby spinach leaves on top and then mozzarrella cheese. I then rolled them up, spayed some oil on top, then squeezed a little lemon juice on top and sprinked parmasen cheese on top. I didnt have wine or provolone. Still tasted great. Will also add some cooked capsicum slices next time. I baked them in the oven at 180 C for 40 minutes. I didn't
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by A cook in Houston
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2005
This was incredible. So far it is the best thing I have made from this site. I made 4 breasts and suffed them with the amounts I like of each ingredient, like extra spinach. I used extra wine in the skillet so that I could make a wine sauce after I took the chicken out. It was great toghether.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
After reading several reviews I made a few alterations to this recipe, but have to give credit to Crystal for providing the basis of a delicious recipe! I layered prosciutto, provolone and fresh spinach leaves on the pounded chicken breasts and add some chopped sage leaves; rolled them up and secured with toothpicks. I then browned them in 2 tbs. olive oil. Added a little salt and fresh ground pepper. When they were evenly browned on all sides I took them out of the pan and put them in a baking dish. I added a cup of white wine to the pan and let it reduce for about 10 minutes. I then added the wine to the baking dish and put it in a 350 oven for about 25 minutes. Everyone raved at this dish! Restaurant quality! I can't wait to make it again --so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2007
This dish came out great, I took some suggestions from other readers-I used fresh spianch and sauteed the spinach with some mushrooms and garlic. I lightly breaded the chicken with italian seasoning, browned it a bit in the wine and then baked it in the oven. I added some chickenn broth, garlic and mushrooms to the left over wine to make a nice sauce!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
This was a great dish....but only because I altered it. First, I used fresh spinach instead of frozen...it was a great taste, I could not imagine using limp frozen spinach. Also, I folded the breasts in half and closed with toothpicks instead of rolling it. Then, I cooked the chicken in the pan for only a minute or two on each side. Then I moved it to a baking dish, poured in the wine and let it bake in the oven....I think I was about 400 degrees for 35 minutes or so. I used a baster a few times to baste the wine over the chicken. I served it with Garlic Parmezan Orzo...(also found on here) and Asaparagus. It was a dinner that my guests complimented me on all night!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Very good! I took the advice of past reviews and after browning the chicken in olive oil and fresh garlic, put it in a baking dish, added some wine and baked at 375 for about 20 minutes. Served with rice. Next time i'll use more spinach and possibly add tomato from the garden. Very delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Awesome. I added mushroom. Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2006
I gave it a five star rating, but I did incorporate a few changes of my own and some suggested by other reviwers. I used fresh basil leaves (only a few per roll) - omitted the spinach - finished it off in the broiler for 2 minutes - and seasoned the breasts with fresh garlic and onion powder before assembling and rolling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Mary, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States