Crystal's Chicken Saltimbocca Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I believe this was the best banana bread I have made (I have made a lot). I followed the directions with two minor changes. I really like tasting bananas in my bread so I used 5 bananas instead of 3. I really believe that was the key to having such a moist bread. Instead of 1/3 cup of chocolate chips, I used 1/4. It made more than enough and my son has not stopped eating it since it came out of the oven. Thank you for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I used fresh spinach that I steamed in the microwave. After reading the reviews I decided to roll the chicken in panko and parmesan cheese and then brown in a pan. I then moved the chicken to the oven for 20 minutes. I deglazed the pan with 1/2 wine and 1/2 chicken broth which I then poured over the chicken when baking. Delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2011
No spinach used mozzarella cheese
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2011
Excellent recipe, but i also made a few changes. Used chicken cutlets and pounded them even thinner. Sprinkled each with kosher salt and garlic powder before laying ingredients I did use frozen chopped spinach ( its all I had on hand) Used toothpicks to hold closed then I sprinkled with italian breadcrumbs and browned them lightly in olive oil and garlic. then I set them aside in a corningware and made an awesome sauce with the pan drippings and chicken broth and MORE garlic ( we LOVE garlic) . added a drop of lemon juice and a little bit of white wine and some fresh chopped parsley. Added the sauce to the Corningware and sprinked with fresh grated cheese. cooked in the oven for 30 min. Basted a couple of times. Some of the cheese melted out, but it made the sauce even tastier! Not dry at all and my husband was raving. I froze 4 of them and some of the sauce to eat again next week. Definitely a keeper. Thanks Crystal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coconut Creek, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
So delicious! I made this for my husband and his buddy, and it was a HUGE success! I substituted fresh mozzerella instead of the provolone and it was just as good :) I can't wait to make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serrin5210

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
Very good! I took the advice of past reviews and after browning the chicken in olive oil and fresh garlic, put it in a baking dish, added some wine and baked at 375 for about 20 minutes. Served with rice. Next time i'll use more spinach and possibly add tomato from the garden. Very delicious though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Awesome. I added mushroom. Really good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2010
After reading several reviews I made a few alterations to this recipe, but have to give credit to Crystal for providing the basis of a delicious recipe! I layered prosciutto, provolone and fresh spinach leaves on the pounded chicken breasts and add some chopped sage leaves; rolled them up and secured with toothpicks. I then browned them in 2 tbs. olive oil. Added a little salt and fresh ground pepper. When they were evenly browned on all sides I took them out of the pan and put them in a baking dish. I added a cup of white wine to the pan and let it reduce for about 10 minutes. I then added the wine to the baking dish and put it in a 350 oven for about 25 minutes. Everyone raved at this dish! Restaurant quality! I can't wait to make it again --so delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laurie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Natick, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Surprise, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
Excellent dish! I did exactly how the recipe directed except instead of cooking for 20 minutes, I cooked for 10-12 minutes and that was sufficient since the chicken is very thin. I served this dish with asparagus with hollandaise sauce, and garlic & herb red potatoes. AWESOME!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lackawaxen, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2009
very fancy pants but surprisingly easy. read some reviews and incorporated many of the suggestions. Biggest difference from recipe as stated was to pan fry for just a few minutes until slightly browned, with olive oil and garlic and then bake (adding garlic oil, 1 tablespoon butter, white wine & thyme). Used plenty of toothpicks to secure that sucker. I was unsure about the temps so cooked covered in foil for 375 degrees for 20 minutes, uncovered and baked at 400 degrees for 10-15 minutes. Chicken turned out very moist. Also used fresh spinach. After rinsing spinach and shaking off excess water, put in pan with lid for about 3-4 minutes to wilt the spinach -- for easier rolling. Added a few basil leaves as the first layer and i also put a dusting of breadcrumbs on it after it was all rolled up. Next time, I will use a tad less salt and possible consider putting some marinara sauce on top . Basically, the recipe suggestions I followed for the most part were in the review by SarahLovesBroccoli. I used thyme instead of sage because I had some fresh already on hand. The white wine sauce was wonderful and I poured some over the top after I served. Thanks Crystal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pdizzy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Cole Camp, Missouri, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mom's Chicken Cacciatore

A comforting Italian classic with tomatoes, fresh mushrooms, and garlic.

Quick Chicken Piccata

See how to make a classic Italian chicken dish.

Chicken Cordon Bleu II

See how to make chicken cordon bleu in a creamy white wine sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States