Crusty French Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by mommyluvs2cook
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2013
Omg this is some good bread! Wish I would have made extra to freeze. The egg wash is a must if you want a nice golden top on the bread, otherwise it will be washed out looking. I used part of this to slice and make it garlic cheese rounds. LOVE this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommyluvs2cook

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2013
If cooked correctly (by the recipe) this bread is FANTASTIC!!! Can't go wrong with it! A hit with the entire family and the girl I'm trying to impress! :-D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
This bread is really easy to put together and my family really loved it. I substituted 1 cup of whole wheat flour for 1 cup of the flour and used 2 cups of bread flour for the remainder of the flour. It has a very nice appearance and is soft on the inside with a nice outer crust that it's too hard. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Susan Quinn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Emporia, Kansas, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2013
This is the best French Bread recipe ever! I've even started it in my bread machine until after the first rise, (dough cycle) then take it out and finish as recipe directs and it always comes out perfect. Just follow the bread machines directions for putting in ingredients and use the dough cycle. Either way you make it it is awesome bread. I tried another recipe on here specifically for the bread machine and it was a total failure. This one works. I've also shaped it into 8 rolls instead of a loaf, let them raise for about 40 minutes and then baked for about 18 mintues. This has become my go to recipes for bread and rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karen Feigenbaum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
this is awsome I did put a little oven proof dish of water in the oven durning baking keeps the bread fluffly inside a crusty on the outside give it a try
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lakeland, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Darc666
Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2012
this will now be my go-to french bread recipe when im having soups or spaghetti... or spinach dip! the crust is light and crusty, the inside soft and fluffy. i agree with Miki, it was a tad sweet for my tastes, and i DID make one change, using one cup AP flour and one cup bread flour, with the additional flour added in being AP. Next time ill cut back on the sugar, and possibly refrigerate the dough for a day or two to develope a more 'sour' flavor. But alas, this recipe DEFINATELY made my most beautiful looking loaf that i have baked to date. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
Will make again...family loved this bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIE-0-TOOLE
Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2012
awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
very good just what we were looking for
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stacey08

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA
Living In: Plainsboro, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
The best oven bread I have made yet. Not real difficult and came out looking great too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LisaMC

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States