Crusty Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I thought this came out very good, and I have some odd results with my new bread machine sometimes. I left out the hot sauce, because I don't like it, and scaled it down a bit to fit in my machine, but it came out great. Very light and not dense at all, I found. And the crust was nice and crunchy. I will try it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
This really is an excellent recipe. The crust is quite crisp and the inside has a nice, firm texture. This is a good sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2000
My family loved this bread they said it was the best yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2008
This is the first loaf of bread that my new bread maker has truly successfully made. It must be fool proof! I did not use the hot sauce and I used self rising yellow corn meal. All my ingredients were at room temp (except the water, which I heated in the microwave with the automatic "beverage" button. I added the dry ingredients first (contrary to my machine's instructions), then the yeast in the corner, and then the water/oil to the other corner. It's best if you do not directly scoop out your flour with the measuring cups...in other words, it shouldn't be packed tightly in the measuring cups, so use a spoon to scoop into the cups first. The crust is crispy and the bread is soft and light with a hint of cornmeal. Use the lightest setting on your machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
This yeast cornbread lives up to its name--its crust turns out really crunchy. I loved it. I baked it in the oven for 30 minutes at 375 in a 9x5 pan. I also added about 1/2 t. more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
Crust was great and taste was good but way too heavy, dense loaf that made a 2lb weight loaf, but it did not fill pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
Great Sandwich Bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Easy interesting hybrid of regular bread and cornbread. Turned out really well for chili night. It also makes very delicious toast, somewhat similar to english muffin bread. Would definately make again, got the thumbs up from my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
My family loved this bread. It's a little grainy, a pretty color, a change from eating regular white or wheat. Delicious toasted, for sandwiches or plain. Perfect for breakfast or with dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2009
I made with wheat flour and had to increase the water by 1/2 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darlene Neeley

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Sweet Cornbread Cake

See how to make sweet, moist, and cakey cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States