Crusty Cornbread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2000
My family loved this bread they said it was the best yet!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2000
This really is an excellent recipe. The crust is quite crisp and the inside has a nice, firm texture. This is a good sandwich bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2000
Crust was great and taste was good but way too heavy, dense loaf that made a 2lb weight loaf, but it did not fill pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2001
Great Sandwich Bread
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2002
I thought this came out very good, and I have some odd results with my new bread machine sometimes. I left out the hot sauce, because I don't like it, and scaled it down a bit to fit in my machine, but it came out great. Very light and not dense at all, I found. And the crust was nice and crunchy. I will try it again for sure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
41 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2003
I don't think you can call this a cornbread, but it's a pretty good white bread with a pleasant texture. Will make it again, but I'll look further for another (real) cornbread recipe for bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IVANDIEPART

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brussels, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2004
This yeast cornbread lives up to its name--its crust turns out really crunchy. I loved it. I baked it in the oven for 30 minutes at 375 in a 9x5 pan. I also added about 1/2 t. more salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2006
Not cornbread in my opinion. Good if you like white bread with a crunchy crust. The next day I used the leftover bread to make french toast and it turned out very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by aherrera
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2007
My family really enjoyed this corn bread. However, I'd use a little extra hot sauce to give it a kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by aherrera

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2007
This recipe was surprising; I wouldn't exactly call this bread a cornbread, but I don't think it would make good sandwich bread, either, as some reviewers suggested. We enjoyed the taste very much, and the smell was d-e-l-i-c-i-o-u-s.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Golden Sweet Cornbread

See how to make sweet, golden-delicious cornbread.

Grandmother's Buttermilk Cornbread

See how to make buttermilk cornbread just like grandma made.

Chef John's Italian Cornbread

See how to make a rustic Italian cornbread.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States