Crustless Spinach Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Instead of one large quiche, I pour the mixture into the bottoms of a greased muffin pan, a little less than half full. It makes bite sized portions that are perfect for a party. My friends always ask me for "my recipe"! Easy and delicious. Oh, I use whatever shredded cheese is on sale at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2023 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I HAVE BEEN MAKING THIS ( VERY SIMILIAR ) FOR YEARS . I USE A 10 OZ. PACKAGE FROZEN SPIANCH (DEFROSTED ), 4 EGGS , 2 1/2 CUPS MIXTURE OF ANY TYPE OF CHEESES ( I LIKE SWISS WITH PARMESAN OR MOZZAELLA WITH RICOTTA ) , ANYTHING WORKS . I THROW IN CHOPPED SCALLIONS , A TOUCH OF NUTMEG AND GARLIC SALT . I ALSO TOP WITH BOTTLED MUSHROOM SLICES , GREEN OLIVES , TOMATO SLICES OR WHATEVER I HAVE ON HAND . BAKE AT 375 ,IN A 9 " PIE PAN , FOR 30 MINUTES , OR UNTIL THE EDGE STARS TO BROWN AND THE CENTER NO LONGER BUBBLES ( WITH MOISTURE ) . WHEN ENTERTAINING , I DOUBLE THE RECIPE AND BAKE IN A 9" X 13" GLASS BAKING DISH , CUT INTO SMALL SQUARES AND SERVED AT ROOM TEMPERATURE. IT IS ALWAYS IS A HIT .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1295 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
Yummy! I didn't use muenster cheese. Instead, to make this lower fat, I used 3 eggs, 1/2 cup light sharp cheddar, 1 cup fat free cottage cheese, and a 1/4 cup light parmesan cheese. I added a few sliced mushrooms and green onion in the saute. Although not as rich, still tasty and forgiving recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1112 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
My husband lost nearly 30 pounds on the Atkins diet, and this is his favorite breakfast! I bake a quiche each Sunday night, and he just heats up a slice before work. I substitute sharp cheddar for the muenster, but cut the amount to two cups. I also add about four ounces of lean chopped ham, along with a little minced garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
546 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I've adapted this recipe to be a bit healthier - I use EggBeaters in place of the eggs, use lowfat feta cheese and I put in a bit of chopped lean ham. I bake them in muffin tins and two muffin sized mini quiches are less than 100 calories (2 points if you're a Weight Watcher!). I slightly under cook them so I can pop them in the microwave at work for a nice breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
536 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by accidental cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Very gourmet yet simple to make. Substituting 1 c. chopped scallions for the diced onion cuts down the frying time and gives a nice aroma - just add directly to the egg mixture. Freshly chopped herbs can also be added such as dill or basil for a fragrant aroma. If using fresh spinach instead of frozen, use 8 c. washed and chopped. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
455 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I love the base of this recipe but when made as is, it was too thin and stiff from too much spinach. I made it as written the first time and ended up with a very stiff, thin, dry spinach pie. I have continued to use this recipe so to speak, but have since used 5 large eggs, only about 1/2 to 2/3 of the spinach called for, chopped bell peppers and 1/4 cup milk, and only 2 cups of cheese (I usually use cheddar). Other add-ins I have used with fantastic results - 1/2 cup cottage cheese in place of cheese, 1/2 cooked chopped bacon or ham, 1 can diced green chilies, chopped sun dried tomatoes, 1/4 cup crumbled blue cheese or feta, mushrooms (saute first), or caramelized onions. I usually assemble this the night before and just pop it in the oven the next morning. With extra eggs and milk, I add about 4-5 min. of cooking time. Also, no need to saute spinach. I just drain and squeeze it dry before throwing into the egg mixture. If using onions, sauteeing is a must. With more eggs and some milk, you get a slightly thicker, more moist and tender quiche. You will never miss the crust it's so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
186 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2002
I made this nearly every Friday during Lent and my whole family loves it. Sometimes I would vary it a little, using fresh spinach, adding mushrooms or green peppers or an extra egg. I always doubled the pepper and used fresh cracked. This is a fantastic recipe and very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
164 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moon Riding Fences

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This is great and super easy. I was looking for a quiche without the crust! I made it for my friends and they raved. I am making it again today (Sunday) so that I can have it for breakfast during the week. Heats up great. I only use 2 cups of cheese (1 bag, shredded) any kind and I also had a little bit of fresh nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
140 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I have been making this quiche for many years. It is so easy and delicious. I use a good sharp Cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Paoli, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,538) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States