Crustless Spinach Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2007
Instead of one large quiche, I pour the mixture into the bottoms of a greased muffin pan, a little less than half full. It makes bite sized portions that are perfect for a party. My friends always ask me for "my recipe"! Easy and delicious. Oh, I use whatever shredded cheese is on sale at the store.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1971 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2007
I HAVE BEEN MAKING THIS ( VERY SIMILIAR ) FOR YEARS . I USE A 10 OZ. PACKAGE FROZEN SPIANCH (DEFROSTED ), 4 EGGS , 2 1/2 CUPS MIXTURE OF ANY TYPE OF CHEESES ( I LIKE SWISS WITH PARMESAN OR MOZZAELLA WITH RICOTTA ) , ANYTHING WORKS . I THROW IN CHOPPED SCALLIONS , A TOUCH OF NUTMEG AND GARLIC SALT . I ALSO TOP WITH BOTTLED MUSHROOM SLICES , GREEN OLIVES , TOMATO SLICES OR WHATEVER I HAVE ON HAND . BAKE AT 375 ,IN A 9 " PIE PAN , FOR 30 MINUTES , OR UNTIL THE EDGE STARS TO BROWN AND THE CENTER NO LONGER BUBBLES ( WITH MOISTURE ) . WHEN ENTERTAINING , I DOUBLE THE RECIPE AND BAKE IN A 9" X 13" GLASS BAKING DISH , CUT INTO SMALL SQUARES AND SERVED AT ROOM TEMPERATURE. IT IS ALWAYS IS A HIT .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1265 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wayland, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seymour, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2004
Yummy! I didn't use muenster cheese. Instead, to make this lower fat, I used 3 eggs, 1/2 cup light sharp cheddar, 1 cup fat free cottage cheese, and a 1/4 cup light parmesan cheese. I added a few sliced mushrooms and green onion in the saute. Although not as rich, still tasty and forgiving recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1097 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: 100 Mile House, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2008
I've adapted this recipe to be a bit healthier - I use EggBeaters in place of the eggs, use lowfat feta cheese and I put in a bit of chopped lean ham. I bake them in muffin tins and two muffin sized mini quiches are less than 100 calories (2 points if you're a Weight Watcher!). I slightly under cook them so I can pop them in the microwave at work for a nice breakfast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
529 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by accidental cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Juneau, Alaska, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
My husband lost nearly 30 pounds on the Atkins diet, and this is his favorite breakfast! I bake a quiche each Sunday night, and he just heats up a slice before work. I substitute sharp cheddar for the muenster, but cut the amount to two cups. I also add about four ounces of lean chopped ham, along with a little minced garlic. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
525 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2008
Very gourmet yet simple to make. Substituting 1 c. chopped scallions for the diced onion cuts down the frying time and gives a nice aroma - just add directly to the egg mixture. Freshly chopped herbs can also be added such as dill or basil for a fragrant aroma. If using fresh spinach instead of frozen, use 8 c. washed and chopped. Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
450 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MommyFromSeattle
Reviewed: May 22, 2009
I love the base of this recipe but when made as is, it was too thin and stiff from too much spinach. I made it as written the first time and ended up with a very stiff, thin, dry spinach pie. I have continued to use this recipe so to speak, but have since used 5 large eggs, only about 1/2 to 2/3 of the spinach called for, chopped bell peppers and 1/4 cup milk, and only 2 cups of cheese (I usually use cheddar). Other add-ins I have used with fantastic results - 1/2 cup cottage cheese in place of cheese, 1/2 cooked chopped bacon or ham, 1 can diced green chilies, chopped sun dried tomatoes, 1/4 cup crumbled blue cheese or feta, mushrooms (saute first), or caramelized onions. I usually assemble this the night before and just pop it in the oven the next morning. With extra eggs and milk, I add about 4-5 min. of cooking time. Also, no need to saute spinach. I just drain and squeeze it dry before throwing into the egg mixture. If using onions, sauteeing is a must. With more eggs and some milk, you get a slightly thicker, more moist and tender quiche. You will never miss the crust it's so good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
167 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MommyFromSeattle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bellevue, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2002
I made this nearly every Friday during Lent and my whole family loves it. Sometimes I would vary it a little, using fresh spinach, adding mushrooms or green peppers or an extra egg. I always doubled the pepper and used fresh cracked. This is a fantastic recipe and very versatile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
162 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Moon Riding Fences

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2008
This is great and super easy. I was looking for a quiche without the crust! I made it for my friends and they raved. I am making it again today (Sunday) so that I can have it for breakfast during the week. Heats up great. I only use 2 cups of cheese (1 bag, shredded) any kind and I also had a little bit of fresh nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
138 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millville, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
I have been making this quiche for many years. It is so easy and delicious. I use a good sharp Cheddar cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Havertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Paoli, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 1,516) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Crustless Spinach Quiche

See how to make this quick-and-easy brunch classic.

Spinach Quiche

See how to make this easy, top-rated spinach quiche.

Light and Fluffy Spinach Quiche

See how to make a tasty, reduced-fat spinach and Cheddar quiche.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States