Crustless Spinach Quiche Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
I've been on a low carb/low fat/high protein diet, so I too exchanged cottage cheese for the cream cheese. Only had 2 cups of 2% mexican cheese mix so also added italian turkey sausage to keep up the protein. This was very good and filling for a low carb/low fat recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pamela Cleer Jones

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milan, Michigan, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
Great recipe! I've been making the other "Crustless Spinach Quiche" on this website for quite some time and had been meaning to try to make a lower-fat version. This one is really good! I followed the recipe almost exactly except I didn't have broccoli or mushrooms. I did add a bit of salt, but it's probably not needed. Next time I will definitely try it with broccoli, maybe saute the onion in a tiny bit of oil and mix up the cheeses. I thought the cream cheese was a very nice touch! It's a keeper for sure, and will replace its less healthy evil twin recipe....at least most of the time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LBRANN25

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Holland, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Photo by rpariser
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2010
Yummy! This is my first attempt at quiche so I was quite nervous. I baked them in muffin tins because I don't have a quiche pan and they turned out great. I filled them almost to the top and just cut the baking time down to about 30 mins. Keep an eye on them just in case. I also added some shredded carrot, minced garlic, and a diced jalapeno to the recipe. Topped them off with half a cherry tomato. Beautiful and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpariser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2008
My boyfriend and I are on a very low carb diet...soI modified the recipe a bit tocut carbs...instead of milk I used heavy wipping cream which has zero carbs, I omitted te onion and brocoli, and used slightly less spinach...we had large turkey legs left over so we cut the meat off and chopped it down to small pieces sauteed the meat in a pan and addded that to the quiche...very low carb and very delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2008
OK, but it needs some tinkering with additional spices - I used oregano and garlic and onion powder. Be sure to really drain the water out of your spinach; I didn't do a very good job of it and was left with a little liquid pool at the bottom of the plate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHARI

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Owego, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2009
This is a recipe that tastes great that I don't feel guilty making - no heavy cream, eggs, or regular cheese. I've made it twice and everybody loved it. It's easily adaptable. I used 3 cups chopped fresh spinach instead of the frozen spinach and broccoli. No problem with it being watery. Also used lowfat colby instead of cheddar. Used 4 oz cream cheese as it came in 8 oz container so I used half of it. Just a wonderful basic recipe that you can do a lot with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2009
Delicious!! The whole family enjoyed it. I used regular eggs, milk, and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tammyp

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2008
Used the actual quiche part. Fat free milk, reduced fat cream cheese and egg sub.. Used fresh spinach instead of frozen, used 1/2 grated carrot and half mushrooms. Very good quiche for so low fat. Thanks so much for the recipe. I'll use the quiche part a lot and just experiment with different fillings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MATTSBELLY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2011
I sauteed the onion and mushrooms with garlic in a little olive oil. I used fresh broccoli, steamed a little. I used only one cup of cheese. Instead of egg substitute, I used two eggs and added a heaping tablespoon of flour. It's a family favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
great recipe! I love the alternative high protein and lower calorie option to the original. Instead of broccoli we added zucchini, which turned out very well and fresh spinach instead of frozen. Super good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheerblonde05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States