Crustless Cranberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Photo by Sarah Sester
Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2014
Just made this for the 2nd time! It has received rave reviews in my house and was requested again- now just waiting for it to come out of the oven! Very quick and easy to put together, great for when you don't feel like putting in a ton of effort. After reading other reviews, I did substitute 1/2 tsp of Vanilla extract & 1/2 tsp of Almond extract. But I will try it as written next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Sester

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2014
I loved this recipe and have shared it with friends and family. I exchanged the almond extract for orange extract as I love the combination of orange and cranberry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2014
So I made this pie yesterday with high hopes from all the reviews. I made it exactly as instructed. With the exception of substituting walnuts for almonds. And doing 3/4 tsp vanilla extract and 1/4 tsp almond. I had to let it bake longer than 40 mins. More like 50 mins. Once ready I let it cool and tasted.... The whole pie was stuck to my pie pan so I couldn't get the nice slice like the picture. The taste is OK I think if I try it again I'll do less cranberries. I was so upset it all stuck to the pan. Hopefully next time I'll have better luck
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
Made this exactly as per the recipe (except I added fresh grated orange peel) and the cranberries were too tart for my family's taste. Had most of it left over so tonight i will serve with a sweet orange glaze. That might help. The batter portion was nice and we loved the almond flavor, but sweetness was not enough to offset the tartness of the berries. This recipe has potential, so next time, I am going to cook the cranberries in orange juice as I would for cranberry sauce, but just enough so that the berries have just popped and so that the sauce is very dry and thick. Then I will combine it with the cake batter gently so that cranberries are just swirled into the batter. This way the berries will have already been sweetened to cut the tartness, and it should work out better for my family's sweet tooth!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2014
I'm not a cranberry fan but had 2 bags from the co-op I needed to use and came across this recipe. I decided to make it for our Thanksgiving get together. Everyone who tried it absolutely LOVED it including me. I did use some of the suggestions like decreasing amount of cranberries and the streusel topping. I didn't have almond extract so I used 1 t or vanilla and left the cinnamon out of the streusel. I also pulled it out of the oven when the toothpick still had some pie stuck to it to help keep it moist. This is definitely a do over and have been asked for the recipe. Thank you for sharing!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heather Roper

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
I am not a baker, and I chose this recipe because it was simple, and it was a hit for those that like a little sweet and tart in their dessert. I would make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bill Morris

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Excellent! Bakery quality! I used 1/4 tsp.each of vanilla and almond extracts. You can have this in the oven in under 10 minutes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by deborahcat
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This is fabulous! My first bite, while still warm, was "hmmm this is interesting!" My second bite was "this is good!" My third bite was "OMG this is wonderful". You don't need to change anything. The recipe is excellent as written. Yes, it has a tart and sweet and almond-y flavor. However it's not TOO much of any one of those. It's very well balanced as written. I did sprinkle the dough with a bit of demarra sugar before baking. I also took the advice of another reviewer and saved a few cranberries to press part way down into the dough so their juices would run on top of the "pie". It is more of a brownie like texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
I liked the cranberries, but my family found them to be too tart. Next time I'll try blueberries, or perhaps chopped/mashed sweetened cranberries. Instead of walnuts, I used chopped pecans, which were very good. I followed a previous reviewer's advice and used only 1/4 tsp of almond extract, and added 3/4 tsp vanilla, plus 1/2 tsp cinnnamon and 1/8 tsp cloves. I also mixed in about 1/2 tsp baking powder into the flour/sugar mixture. So the cakey part turned out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
This has been a family favorite for over 40 years! Now with my new husbands family as well. My brother in law ate the entire pie himself because I brought one over when his family was out for the day...lol
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 779) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States