Crustless Cranberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2006
I made this twice and both times it was gone in a day. I did change some things both time I made it 1. used 1/4 almond extract & 3/4 vanilla 2. added 1/2 tsp cinnamon & 1/4 tsp ground clove to the batter 3. made the streusel topping w/ 1/2 tsp cinnamon(from earlier reviewer). One version was with walnuts, second was with sliced almonds. Both were good, not to sweet or tart, but the almond version was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
470 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This is the best cranberry dish I've ever made. I made it with a brown sugar/walnut topping (1/4 cup walnuts, 1/3 cup brown sugar, 2 tablespoons butter, 2 tablespoons flour mixed together), which definitely helped it, although it'd be good without the topping as well. I actually like it better cold than warm, but I generally like pies cold.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
333 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What a Dish!
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2005
Oh wow!! What a sweet surprise!! This was SO GOOD! It was yummy cranberry goodness surrounded by a tasty, tasty cake-thing. I would describe the texture of the "cake" as a cross between a cake and a brownie (non-chocolate, of course). I think the almond flavoring really ties it all together, and the nuts are essential too. As I usually do, I used 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour in place of the white. My husband was really blown away by this; he wasn't looking forward to "cranberry pie" but said it was one of the best things he's ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
237 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by What a Dish!

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
I searched for this recipe since I had lost mine. I love it! It is easier to make, however, if you just put the cranberries and nuts in the prepared pan and pour the batter over them. Glad I found your website and this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
210 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mtnlaurl
Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2009
PROS: A mix and dump pie that makes its own crust, nothing could be easier. Without exception, everyone liked it - even those picky eaters who wouldn't touch my homemade Cranberry Chutney - and some took home a piece for later. CONS: The 1 tea. of almond extract would have been overpowering for my taste. I took the suggestion of another reviewer and used 1/4 tea. of almond extract and 3/4 tea. of vanilla. That was perfect with enough of an almond taste that other bakers could identify it in the pie. SUGGESTION: After you pat the mixture in the pan, take a handful or so of cranberries and scatter them on top, pushing them gently about half way into the batter. Some will burst and run while cooking, giving the pie a more festive presentation with more red on top in lieu of a lot of the white batter showing on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
188 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2008
I love this recipe and you can make it in an 8x8" square pan without altering anything. I used 100% whole wheat pastry flour and I added a streusle topping, before baking. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
108 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
Love this pie! Totally different from anything that I have ever made/eaten! Beautiful presentation with the contrast of red & white. I even lowered the calories by using half splenda for the sugar, and it was delicious. I plan to try this with blueberries - may add a little lemon zest with this version. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Joanna, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2005
I did this with cranberries & blackberries, no nuts, 1/2 Rice flour and 1/2 spelt flour it was wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Outstanding exactly as written. You can reduce the berries to 1.5 cups if you're really not fond of tartness or if your berries aren't quite ripe. Leave everything else the same. I have always used frozen cranberries (not defrosted) and had no problems, but yes, the batter is very thick. It isn't a pie, but a sort of torte made in a pie dish. Don't do the cinnamon or strudel topping thing, it doesn't go with the almond flavor at all, and the almond flavor is the whole point of this dessert, which has the wonderful consistency of a (non-chocolate) brownie. If you like the flavor of marzipan then you will love this dessert. And honestly, can people stop giving negative reviews to recipes they did not even make? If you made this with blueberries and lemon extract and Egg Beaters, then you can't say the recipe is bad! You did not make the recipe!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2005
This was absolutely delicious! It ended up needing about 5 more minutes in the oven, but afterwards it was awesome:) Everyone who ate it just loved it, and it's so simple to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 753) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Related Videos

Blackberry and Blueberry Pie

See how to make a sweet and tart, two-berry pie from scratch.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

How to Make Apple Pie

Make the classic All-American pie—and watch tips for picking the perfect apple.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States