Crustless Cranberry Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I played with this recipe a little. I used toasted almonds...it was much better that way. I used a little less sugar and it turned out great. My husband and 2 sister-in-laws loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
I had some fresh cranberries given to me and wasn't sure what I was going to do with them. I wanted to make muffins, but most recipes called for orange juice/zest and I didn't feel like running to the store. I happened upon this recipe and am VERY glad that I did! WONDERFUL! I followed as directed, except that I used coconut sugar instead of white sugar and almonds instead of walnuts. I chopped the almonds - when I make again, and I will, i will try roasting and chopping the almonds. Simply FABULOUS - thank you for sharing!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colleen Newton Pause

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fairlee, Vermont, USA
Living In: Wilder, Vermont, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2013
Very easy and very tasty. I made this for Thanksgiving and prepped it in the morning after starting the turkey. It went in the oven just before lunch was served and ready to roll with ice cream or whipped cream by dessert time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
I made this pie for Thanksgiving and did not really like it. It was simple and easy, but did not taste good. It was kinda like cake and kinda like pie, but was neither and something in between. I did not like the texture, it was kinda like cake. It was also a bit too sweet from the cranberries for me. I will not make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2013
i made this following the recipe as written the first time and thought it was OK, but needed some changes. Second time I doubled the batter and kept the cranberries to one bag; I used 1/2 cup almond flour (ground almond) plus 1 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour to give me 2 cups of flour and like I said I doubled the other ingredients except for cranberries. I also used 1/2 tsp almond extract plus 1 1/2 vanilla because I knew the almond flour would give plenty of almond flavor (which I adore). I added toasted slivered almonds instead of walnuts. I used a ceramic deep dish pie plate and it was perfect for the amount of batter. I topped the batter with washed raw sugar to give it a little bit of crunch. I baked for about an hour but it could have used a bit more time; I think baking time is one of the hardest things to pin down, especially when I modify a recipe. At the end of this process I had a beautiful cake/pastry that reminded me of the Danish holiday pastries a loved and devoured when I lived in Seattle. The use of almond flour gives this cake a texture and flavor similar to marzipan. The cranberries give it a bright burst of freshness that balances the sweetness. It might not be everyone's idea of a success, but my family really loved it. o
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Delicious!!! I made it for thanksgiving and everyone loved it!!! The only alteration that I made to this recipe is that I used 100% whole wheat flour instead of regular flour and added 1 teaspoon of cinnamon to the mix, and it came out to be very good :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Abby
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
I made this for Thanksgiving this year. I didn't have a pie pan so I used a cake pan which worked just fine. Because I wanted a local dish, I swapped the cranberries and walnuts for satsumas and pecans. The cake came out great, done after 40 minutes in the oven and still yummy after sitting out for a few hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Absolutely wonderful and so festive looking! After reading comments, I used 1/2 tsp. almond extract and 1/2 tsp. vanilla. Also, I put a handful of cranberries on top just before baking so they pop open and make a better presentation. So easy and delish!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
This is fantastic! I substitued Gluten Free flour and it was wonderful!. We cut it up, and froze it in individual baggies - and I just thaw and it and am amazed at how great it tastes!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suziehomemaker
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
This was so easy and delicious. I made it for Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:


Displaying results 81-90 (of 780) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Crustless Cranberry Pie

See how to make a delicious, seasonal cranberry dessert.

Apple Pie by Grandma Ople

Learn how to make Grandma Ople's famous apple pie.

Dutch Apple Pie

Watch how to make a crumbly topped apple pie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States